Building a 10 X 10 Garden Shed

in #gardening7 years ago

I was asked last year to build a garden shed, to store all things for Gardening, by @gardengirlcanada. This post is dedicated to the entire process of building it. It is a 10 X 10 Shed, as I did not require a permit for this size.

garden shed 1.jpg

It started by laying stone as the foundation, then laying 6 mill plastic under the floor joists. Our winter climate gets very cold so I did not want the structure to shift so adding stone compensates for that, when the frost comes out of the ground.

garden shed 2.jpg

Then we frame up the walls. Allowing for a really big window for a garden shed. But she wanted lots of sun exposure to put her starter seeds in early spring.

garden shed 3.jpg

Next is installing and building the roof trusses. Ya I see that fence, I will get around to doing that for her before the summer is out. LOL

garden shed 4.jpg

Next goes the walls of plywood.

garden shed 5.jpg

Cutting out the big window and getting ready for the insulation. She wanted it to be house quality for winter months, so I insulated it as you would a house.

garden shed 6.jpg

In goes that big window, that is south facing. And I painted it in a Wedgewood, as this is the paint theme she has going on in the gardens with her planters. It is a Marine outside paint that will withstand the elements, better in my opinion than the normal exterior paints available.

garden shed 8.jpg

And here we have the finished product. I installed an ice shield and roof shingles on the roof.

garden shed 7.jpg

Now I can enjoy many years of garden harvest from her garden as an exchange for a weekend project of building her this garden Shed. Now where's my hammer, I gotta finish that fence, for her dog, and to keep the unwanted pests out of her garden. Good news, it is not getting painted blue. She has a large property, so lots of space for more projects I am sure.

Until my next project...stay tuned..

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

I think that might just fit in my backyard......lol. Better not let the wife see it or I will be building one

Our first 10x10 shed was a chicken coop.
My dad gave it to my son for a birthday gift when he (my son) was raising chickens. It was the best starter chicken coop ever!

@gardengirlcanada needed this shed, she was lugging all her garden stuff up from the basement everytime she went to garden....So I helped out.

You are a GREAT neighbor and friend to her!!! Blessings to you for always helping her out!

Thank you for your kind words mam!

Nicely done and kudos for going ahead and insulating it at time of construction--a commonly overlooked step that is much more difficult after-the-fact.

Agreed, including the insulation gave her future possibilities of working in there over the winter months once she gets electricity, or a solar off grid set up going, she has started to buy the pieces for solar outfit. Thanks for your kind words. How is your chicken coop coming, we watched the videos.

Nice! I love a good building project. Having nothing and then creating something. I love your attention to detail and tip about the plastic underneath!

That came out great! Love the step by step pictures--well done. Upvoted and following

A wonderful-looking shed. I am so jealous! :)

Nice post. Looks great.

Thank you my wood friend

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

This is awesome! We need something like this for chickens. cock a doodle do.. Thanks for sharing with http://www.steemthat.com

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators

woodlogo2.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52