You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cabbages coming out of my ears - Heading for Brassica Independence Day

in #gardening7 years ago

Looking good!

I love the idea of an Independence Day. It makes progress seem all the more real. I think I'll have to try that here. You're right about beating the bugs too...I did cabbages last winter too and they weren't hassled by any critters because they'd already become decent sized plants by the spring.

Sort:  

I'm hoping I don't need to fleece them over the winter. They are pretty hardy generally unless it gets really cold. I might straw them up if I can get hold of some nearby.

I left mine out without any protection last year and they were totally fine. That being said...it didn't really get THAT cold last winter.

Yes same here. I don't think we went much below about -4 degrees C last winter.

Not sure how they would manage if it went down a lot colder though.

I wonder if there is anywhere on the web that tells you how much frost different brassicas can tolerate?

That would be helpful. I remember my granddad's cabbages happily sitting beneath snow for weeks at a time. I think a lot of brassicas just stop and hold at frozen temperatures....I think I remember watching some Curtis Stone videos and he had -10 and they were okay. Though it'll depend on the variety, of course.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51