You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Annoying Aphids: All About Aphididae And How To Eliminate Them

in #gardening7 years ago

Great post Kevin.

I REALLY rely on beneficial insects. I moved out of London a few years ago and discovered the ladybird population just 20 miles away is almost nothing compared to those in the capital. And so...the battle with aphids began.

This year I discovered hoverfly larvae! Man...for all these years I've been squashing these maggoty, snot-looking grubs on my plants thinking they were something bad. NOW I've discovered they're baby hoverflies and smile every time I see them instead of squishing.

So important to know your wildlife!

Sort:  

Thank you my friend! I'll be honest, I don't rely on beneficial insects enough...one of the downsides of not having a lot of growing space in my current place (urban environment).

Going to look into hoverflies ASAP!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66