Feeding the Food!

in #gardening6 years ago

Scarlet runner beans, cabbage, eggplant, spinach, chard, kale, watermelon, winter squash, zucchini, basil and more are growing in this large garden.
In this one we've got tomatoes, beets, carrots, beans, cucumber, potatoes and onions.
This bed is almost entirely garlic.

Today's chores will be devoted to feeding a few of the crops in another garden.

We start with the corn. Last season we had planted beans here which help fix nitrogen in hopes of providing this years corn a great start. As you can see, it appears to have done just that. Corn loves nitrogen so we are fertilizing with a 21-7-7 mix to ensure healthy stocks and hopefully a fantastic yield.

Next we move on to the peppers using a 5-10-10 fertilizer. This will give them a much needed boost after enduring a late season frost which set them back quite a bit. Once applied we loosen up the surface where we've placed the fertilizer and give each plant a good drink.

Although we lost a few to frost this year, we still have about 20 tomato plants. The six in this garden will also be fertilized today. Just like the corn and peppers, we sprinkle the fertilizer, loosen the surface, then give them a good drink.

Now that the tomato's, peppers, and corn have all been fed, someone is telling us that all work and no play is not the way!

Sort:  

You know I did a small planting of snow peas earlier this year and had a pretty good harvest. The kids had a blast watchin' grow and then enjoyed eating the stir fries I used them in. I did some beans not long ago and they started out strong but died off? Strange and I've yet to figure out what caused this. Try and try again is one of my go by's so we'll see if I can get em' going.

Sounds like the kids really enjoy this type of thing!
As for the beans, maybe your soil was to alkaline? I say this because we have really acid soil and they do fantastic here.

Huh? Well there's a thought? I'll check into that. Thanks for the tip brother. Yeah, they love it. We're always out in the garden. I think it's important for them to know where food actually comes from. I like that we can go out and learn/identify edible plants together and that they actually have "living" foods in their diet! Good stuff!

Hi,
I love watching vegetables growing over time, since the growing cycle in vegetables is generally shorter than that of fruit.
Do you think that using beans for nitrogen fertilization would suffice itself, without applying any other commercial fertilizer?

I would suspect it would be dependent on a whole host of conditions such as soil type/condition, rainfall or lack there of, how acid or alkaline the soil is and whether or not nutrients have been added after every season, or if after harvesting a crop the area was just left bare.
The short answer is: I don't know what w for sure, so that is why we are doubling down and adding the 21-7-7 fertilizer.
Let me know if you've had any experience growing corn and what your results were....

Well, to be honest with you, I've never had first-hand experience growing corn, although I know from a nearby farmer that corn needs a lot of water.
My father used to grow peach trees, and he used to apply fertilizers.
Personally, I am fascinated with the Natural Farming concept that was first applied by Masanobu Fukuoka, and I would like to follow his example and grow fruits and vegetables in his way, which can eliminate the need to take all those factors into account.

I haven't heard of Masanobu Fukuoka, but I will be doing some research. Thanks for pointing us in a new direction!

My friend @brimax I love the plants I like to plant a lot of plants you have to feed them and lots of water to make them big and give very nice fruits also in abundance

I like to plant vegetable plants it is very nice to have them also if you want to cook something you go and take some of them fresh and go to the kitchen @anise and you do a very good job I am sure that Candy also

We, like you, also like being to go out to the garden and pick something fresh to eat. We like knowing where our food comes from, and, that is has been sprayed with anything.

Nothing like knowing where your food comes from, my friend, if you know the source, you will eat it more calmly, as well as fresh

Hello dear friend, what spectacular cultivation work you are doing, you are very blessed to have such a fertile land that allows you to plant different plantations, I love the dedication and love you put into this beautiful field work. Your crops are really taken care of. Candy is really pink and very full of energy, without a doubt it is a beauty. A big hug and blessings.

You are correct, we are blessed. We're thankful for it everyday.
Thank you.

You are correct, we
Are blessed. We're thankful for it
Everyday. Thank you.

                 - brimax


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Wow the work and the dedication that they give to that garden is imprepressive... Your garden is beautiful and abundant.

Thank very much😊

How are you my friend? wow I am surprised of the big planting and they have many things, there is a lot of work in the farm I have not seen anise these days in steemit I imagine that it is busy.
They have a very fertile land for sowing and with your care it will be a very good harvest, you are blessed and I adore your farm, I liked the video because I could see the beautiful Candy

Nothing better than sowing with your own hands your food satisfies it when the harvest this list will be the greatest, greetings to all

We have had a lot to do around the homestead. Once it slows down a bit you will see more of @anise!

"All work and no play is not the way" - haha.. You guys are so hard working. Great video. Cheers!

Thank you Brother. We have been quite busy, I need to find some down time and do a few music posts.
Keep up the great work that you do!

Hi friend Brimax, I'm very happy to see your plantation, as you remember when my late husband sowed all the hectares of corn, since a seed company provided them with all the inputs they needed and then when they picked the crop they paid the credit, and again tracked the land to fertilize it and decided the new cycle of planting, your land looks very good since you can plant many crops and all the plants are going to have a very good harvest, the basil bushes are beautiful, well in fine all the planting, I congratulate you for that hard work, done as a team, and with all the love that you place in your plantation will give you the expected results. Very good team as Candy reminds them that "not everything in life is work" so it is also time for rest and games, many extensive greetings for Anís and of course to Candy, very good video and many thanks for sharing and reminding me good moments that were in my mind, I entertained a lot with this beautiful publication, @brimax

We are thankful for you supporting us, and really happy that we could remind you of some good memories in your mind.
Thank you.

I also have a lot to thank God, that I take my hand through the network, to his blog to continue seeing the crops and the hard work of the farm, which I am passionate about and which due to caprices and bad government administration were taken away from us. land of the hand, I offer for your health and your family, thanks again for your great support friend @brimax and @anise that already pass by his blog and I find it very interesting and I stayed a while reading his great creativity, without more greetings @brimax

Hi there! I just upvoted you, I am a semibot that sometimes vote on great content or sometimes just Create useful content. I am helping @cheetah , @FollowForUpvotes , @minnowSupport , @steemgigs , @dropahead #bots and other users right now for making the steem more helpful to new users. Contact me if you want me to follow on your content or comments. If you have any query then please contact me. You can always send me SP or SBD so i can keep helping you indirectly by helping these awesome bots.



Do not forget to Follow @jeevanot, I actually create content as HUMAN. />

Hello my friend how are you? I see that they have a lot of work in the farm with their platan with reason I have seen them very little here in Steemit

I love how they grow their plants have good color are also great I hope they take some pictures when these plants bear fruit I would love to see those vegetables

I see that Candy is ready with her ball to play her always with good energy

We will definitely do a post before harvest so you'll be able to see the fruit!

This I would love, I like how they look when plants have their fruits

Eso que haces @brimax es excelente cultivar tus propios alimentos es maravilloso, Maiz, Pimientos, Berenjenas, Tomates y gracias por mostrarnos como lo haces. Saludos y feliz fin de semana

Gracias, esperamos que tengas un maravilloso fin de semana también. ¡Gracias de nuevo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77