Building a new Garden Bed

in #gardening6 years ago

Because our property provides us a park like environment we have turned a large portion of it into flower gardens.

We planted a few shrubs here last year so today we'll turn it into a real garden bed.

We build this using 4x4's. After measuring we place multiple cuts half way through with a skill saw. Once completed they easily break off with a light tap from a hammer. Next we used a chisel and hammer to smooth out the cut so it will fit snug with an adjoining piece. When finished it looks like this. On to the next one!

Once all the timbers are cut, we put them in place to be sure of a tight fit. Satisfied with the fit we drill some counter sink holes where we'll place these lag bolts. We then drilled 11 additional holes that we will pound this rebar through to secure the bed from runaway lawn mowers.

Now that all our holes are drilled it's time to move a few plants we picked up at the annual plant sale and lay some cardboard down to kill the grass. Thankfully Candy was there to help us!

Next we installed the lag bolts, followed by the rebar. Each of these pieces is about 2-1/2 feet in length and we pound them flush with the landscape timbers.

Now all that's left is to top it off with some mulch and we'll be ready to add additional plants to this garden next year once the cardboard and mulch have taken care of the grass for us.

Sort:  

Nice! Lookin' good as always! I love a nice lookin' flower bed myself although I've got to have some edibles in there along with the pretty flowers....... ;)

As you know we do grow a lot of food here. Other than our staple food crops we also grow blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, currants, plums, pears, and apples.
We'll do an update on those later in the season.
Welcome back Brother!

I enjoyed the panoramic view of your property at the end of the video. It does look like a quiet park with all the shade trees and flower beds.

Serenity can certainly be found here. Now it's time for a nap😳

Ah, the wonderful nap. When I was 6, I hated them. Now at 56, I can't get enough of them.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz..........huh?

How are you friend?? very beautiful the place where I live I saw that they have even a small river I think they have everything in that place it is good that they turn it into a place more beautiful than it is and fill it with plants.

But the most beautiful here is Candy posing with the silvers and as always helping

Having a small brook on the property can be a real help when you need water for plants!

Hello Brimax how are you? your farm is very big and very beautiful with all those trees really you are lucky to live among so much nature and also care about improving it every day, I love to see a Candy she is very nice and it shows that she loves them very much please give her Greetings to your wife I really admire all that work you show me in your videos in each publication, greetings and have an excellent weekend
Very nice picture of Candy next to the plants

We are really lucky and really do enjoy the simple pleasures of just enjoying what we have😊

This garden is nice. I love gardening and I also have a garden. thank you for your description. It helps me to make my garden beautiful.

Thanks for stopping by. I'll swing by your page and look for some pictures of your garden!

Excellent work my friend @brimax, when creating a New Garden very nice that work with wood. La vista del final del video es impresionante con tanto arboles y plantas alrededor

Thank, we love the view at the end as well!

Friend really has a beautiful property, what I liked most is that it is surrounded by a beautiful nature and let me congratulate him because he has done a beautiful job with his garden. I have always dreamed of being able to live in a house where I can enjoy having a garden, because I currently live in a small apartment. I hope you can have a garden as beautiful as yours. God bless your beautiful home, in which you can observe the great love you have invested in the apart of effort. A big hug.

Just because you currently live in a small apartment doesn't mean you will never have a nice garden. Keep your dreams alive!

I am totally in agreement with you, it is worth dreaming, because once this crisis is over, we are going through, I am sure that I will be able to conquer my goal and have my own house with a beautiful garden. A dear hug @brimax

Best of luck!

You have a very extensive field, the section where you placed the plants looks really attractive and solid. You are constantly adding modifications and decoration, making it look better.

It's a labor of love🙂

How are you friend? the truth this is very good and if they say they have a beautiful place, usually where I live do not see places like that, I did not imagine that with some woods and a technique everything would be very good, I like how it looks I think I am very cute although Candy is more beautiful hahaha

Great job, greetings to @anise

I'll let Candy know you think she's beautiful 😊

Friend, I love Candy his faithful companion who looks very happy, I like many animals especially dogs, I think they are 4-legged angels whose mission is to give love and make life happy, otherwise I have to wish you a good weekend and rest for you and lady, greetings friend @brimax

Candy s like a little angel. She does what she's told, will not go on the road....even if her ball does, and we can take her anywhere off leash. She knows who the pack leaders are and follows the rules. In exchange she is spoiled rotten!!!

If it is true, even if one scolds them they are always around one. She looks very hyperactive. Here we are complicating life for our pets, there are already many wandering around the streets, maintenance costs us more every day. So Candy is very lucky to have you. Greetings friend @brimax

Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79