Vegetable Garden v2.0 -- BeginningssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

Well hello there everyone in Steemit Land! I wanted to get posting earlier on but I had problems with posting images, but I have finally rectified that. So far, my garden has been so much better this year since I have learned what has and what hasn't worked. Mainly in the area of defense--i.e., keeping the animals out, namely groundhogs.

I started this year with a green house I built last year courtesy of Harbor Freight. It is the 6 x 8 model and has been really good in my opinion. The hardest part was crafting a foundation to affix it to. Thanks to @daddykirbs for his YouTube video on how to assemble as the instructions leave very much explanation to be desired.

IMG_20170518_103326742_HDR.jpg

Anyway, here is a picture of what looks like ruins of a garden (picture taken May 8, 2017). It is just overgrown and at that time I have not had a chance to clean it up and get it ready for the 2017 gardening campaign.

IMG_20170508_112720647.jpg

Keep on Growing!

Sort:  

That's why gardening is so rewarding. You learn something new every season.

I agree 100%

What a nice garden you have got there! Upvote!

Thank you so much!

I am just now planning my first garden - - haven't even considered defense yet. Luckily, I don't think groundhogs will be a problem ;)

Excited to see your progress!

That's great. I always had problems with deer, but last year it was a ground hog and it ate everything.

That happened to us one year.
Very disheartening to see how rapidly they can destroy a garden. We ended up getting a trapper to come and set up traps and then take away the groundhogs when they were caught. He took them to a state forest. When we found there one one more after we thought he had finished we set up our own havahart trap and took the last baby to the state forest.

Thanks for trapping humanely. That's really good of you.

Wao im impressed with your crafting skills. I bet you will have an amazing garden!

what are you planning to grow in your garden?

Tomatoes, zucchini, cucumbers, beans, beets, kale, celery, cabbage, cauliflower, potatoes, and green peppers.

It must be great to be self sufficient and know exactly what you're eating and where the food came from

Here in wet west Wales the greenhouse I finally got this year really has been a godsend. We have only had it a month and it is packed full already and everything in it is booming.

I am so happy with it that I have diverted some funds to order a second one that should be arriving next month.

Along with the forthcoming polytunnel this is all helping to extend our growing season and get closer to our 3 year target of producing 90% of our vegetables and 50% of our fruit.

That's great. I love my green house.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55