My First Vegetable Garden - Part 9steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Welcome all to part 9 of my 2016 vegetable garden blog.  As you have read in past entries, I have had trouble with a groundhog and squash vine borer that hit my zucchini quite a bit.  However, the borer did not even touch my yellow squash which I found to be very interesting.  Could it be that they find the plant unsuitable for their offspring or is it something genetic in the plant that they find repulsive?  This is just one of many questions to be answered in time as I gain more experience and knowledge.


Below is a picture of said yellow squash plant which was a prolific producer.  Not only did we eat it grilled and steamed but we shredded so much of it on a mandolin and made bread with it.  So good, but I have to say zucchini makes for better bread.  But not bad.



Here is just a sample of my harvests every few days.




Now, getting back to that groundhog, here is a shot of my cucumber plants which by rights should have inundated us with fruits and totally covered my pallet wood trellis, but this is about the biggest the plants got before they were eaten.  I had no cucumbers whatsoever.  2017 will be so much different, but I’ll get to that soon enough.



My cherry tomato plants could have been considered invasive and produced enough fruit for an army all summer.  I never ate so many tomato sandwiches in my life.  And the dog never ate so many tomatoes in his life...he loves tomatoes.  I had so many that I probably harvested a few pounds every other day.  Very successful.



I wish I could have said the same thing for my beefsteak tomatoes.  I think they got a curly leaf virus or some such disease.  They never set many fruit and the ones they did rotted before ripening.  The few that made it had black spots inside.  I know for sure it was not blossom end rot, but nonetheless, unsure of what it was...it was very disappointing.




That about wraps up the 2016 inaugural vegetable season.  It was not a total success, but not a total failure.  I learned a lot for 2017 and have come fully prepared to do battle with the wildlife, namely the groundhog.
I hope to “see” you all and thanks for your support and comments and votes.  I plan on doing this current year's garden as well as flower gardening.  


Thank you and Keep on Growing!

Sort:  

Looks great!

Such a cool garden! Maybe i have to also get somethign to the balcony this summer.

When I plant my tomatoes, I remove all the limbs near the bottom. Any limb that, if it rains, rain could splash up onto the limbs. Here in Alabama, it is really easy for disease to splash up and cause blight and many other issues. Also, we can't let our tomatoes ripen on the vine. When they start to turn, we pull them and sit them in the window sill to ripen. Just so humid here that it just makes less work to pick before fully ripe. Good luck.

Well thanks for the advice. This year, I also mulched the garden as well...not only to save water but also to learn chance of blight. I will prune like you say.

Thanks 😀

Glad to help if I can.

I like that. Thankyou!

i was gratified to see this. seems successful to me.

Thanks. This was last year and I have learned a lot. Can't wait to write about it and see how it turns out this year.

and you will learn more this year, and no doubt for every year as your garden consumes you.

What a beautiful garden!! Very much looking forward to seeing this years story and harvest from you. Be well! :)

Thank you so much. So far this year is going great. Can't wait to bring it to you.

Sounds like you did pretty well considering you had some issues along the way. I don't think any garden is a 100% perfect on production even with optimum conditions. There is always going to be something that could have done better. That's what keeps us coming back to try again next year!

You got that right! Got my chicken wire fence for this year. So far no intrusion.

I agree on zucchini being better for bread. Seems like the yellow squash is waterier. Did you freeze any for later? Good luck with 2017's garden. I look forward to following your progress

I got a loaf or two in the freezer. Chocolate zucchini bread. Sounds odd but really good

Thanks for the comment. I will be posting more soon.

That is worth knowing , much appreciated

You are very welcome.

Mmmmmm I could really go for some fresh veggies on tacos right now. Raddish and green tomato + peppers = yummm :)

I saw you were following me, I made a new name I will primarily post on @truthforce :)

That does sound good. I clicked on your new name and hit the follow button. ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14