My First Vegetable Garden - Part 5steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Greetings all after an eleven month hiatus. I’d like to apologize to my readers for leaving them for so long. Finally I can share my story and continue it for you all.  


This was all put together in Spring of 2016.  I had just finished the task of completing the first bed which seemed like an insurmountable challenge to overcome.  Now came the gargantuan task of constructing the second bed.  I don't think it was the idea of construction that disconcerted me but rather that of earth moving.  And it was a lot and also a question of where the hell I was going to put it.


As you can see in the above picture, I moved some of the dirt to allow preliminary installation of vertical posts.


Slowly but surely, boards were affixed to the posts and it never failed...when I thought I had enough, I ran out and had to dismantle more pallets.  I think that was the pain in the ass part.  


Then came time to finally fill in the bed.  But first, I had to dig out all the dirt and lay the logs and brush to create the Hugelkultur bed.  As a final measure, I top dressed it with some homemade compost.  In addition, I left part of it open so I could create an adjoining, perpendicular bed.





Now the garden is taking shape.  I just might actually accomplish what I set out to do and just in time for the growing season, too.  Sweet!
Stay tuned for the next installment. Thank you readers.
#gardening

Sort:  

Gosh that I a lot of real work there, so well done to get your beds just right. Hopefully lots of lovely veges this summer.

Yeah, it was a lot of work but we'll worth it. I'm hoping for lots. Thanks for the comment!

That was a lot of earth moving! Your beds look nice and well-laid out. Here's to a great garden in 2017, especially after all that effort.

Thank you so much. I planned it all winter long and couldn't wait to get started. Then it got really close to planting time, so I had to work fast.

Nice post! Waiting to see the green babies come out from that soil.

Thank you so much. It was a lot of work, but worth it and on the cheap. Free pallets and scrap wood. All I had to do was buy screws.

Those are some 'industrial strength' beds! Very impressive. I'm betting you'll get some amazing crops out of there!

Thanks Aunt Deb. Last year I had a tomato jungle and I hope to get better yields this year. I am giving the square foot gardening method a go this year.

Tomatoes can do that... amazingly fast, too.

I've heard the square foot method is quite effective. It'll be neat to see how it goes for you!

Cant wait to see your garden filled with plants later this summer! I like the layout.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.47
ETH 3134.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39