You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Asparagus

in #gardening7 years ago

The green stalk varieties are indeed better, as they taste and look great without any need for blanching, which is time and resource and labor intensive, as well as unnatural. Mary Washington is a good variety, I considered that as well, but Connover's Colossal was on sale - managed to get 200 seeds for about USD1.50.

Another thing I've read is possible is relocating the grown crowns. So it is possible to plant them in one place and then move them after a few years, if a better place is found.

Sort:  

Interesting - I admit I know little about them, but I would have thought their large root structures would have pretty much prohibited such moving.

Excellent score on the seed purchase, by the sounds! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44