My First Turmeric Crop

in #gardening7 years ago

Hey Steemit explorers,

One of my passions is spending time in the garden. It is something I like to do to help ground myself and is my form of meditation. Over the past 5 years we've moved house 3 times, so each time I've had to experiment with various crops trying to see which vegies are the easiest to grow with the setup I have. So last year we had some organic turmeric that was lying around in the fridge and I thought I would give it a try to grow our own. Well today I decided to pull up the few plants we had and these were the results.

This is how the turmeric scrubbed up after washing away the soil.

Now to the best part. Not only can it be consumed in meals and drinks, it also has some amazing health benefits as well.

These include:
  1. It's ability to heal wounds
  2. Protect cognitive abilities
  3. Ease menstrual difficulties
  4. Reduce inflammation
  5. Eliminate depression
  6. Alleviate pain
  7. Slow the aging process
  8. Protect the digestive tract
  9. Prevent cancer

  10. So until next time, I have a nice little (and I do mean little) eggplant growing and some garlic that isn't too far away.

    Cheers

    Ref: 9 Best Benefits of Turmeric

    Sort:  

    wow.jpg

    Keep the harvest coming! Good job!!

    Thanks busypaws, its nice to have some gardening successes.

    Great project, it is so easy to grow your own medicine...many thanks for sharing...I will now share to my FB "Plant Based Society" group page, so others can see how easy it is....many thanks..upvote, following & sharing...much Peace2U:)

    Yes, nature is grand. My partner is always looking to make her own potions...my pet name for her is witchypoo. :-)

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.20
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.028
    BTC 63624.94
    ETH 3481.95
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.54