3 Reasons Why You Should Be Planning Next Season’s Garden

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

3 Reasons Why You Should Be Planning Next Season’s Garden

EFE1E5A0-97BA-4687-BF07-9AF28553CBEE.jpeg

It was such a pleasure to sink one's hands into the warm earth, to feel at one's fingertips the possibilities of the new season. ~ Kate Morton

Here are a few of the reasons to start thinking about your next garden.

Reason 1...

Because it’s winter and you have the time. Most of the outdoor work is done until the weather warms again. I do have about 40 bags of leaves to shred and spread as winter cover on my garden beds, but only on the milder days. The shorter days allow more evening time to plan and peruse garden catalogs.

Reason 2...

Because the seed selections in the catalogs are less likely to be sold out. Other years when I waited till late winter or early spring to purchase seeds, I was often disappointed to find the new varieties sold out. Although I save many seeds for most of what I plant, I like to sample new and newly offered old varieties of vegetables and flowers.

Next season’s list of seeds are already ordered or already arrived in the mailbox.

Reason 3...

Because spring will be here sooner than you think. It may seem that winter lasts forever, but it doesn’t. Because I love my gardens, I like to start getting serious around Valentines Day. It’s time to start assembling supplies and maybe starting some of the early plants. Mapping out garden layouts, and general cleanups of the garden areas on the mild, late winter days are all possible.

Let me hear about how you survive until the next Gardening Season gets here in the comments below. And if you happen to live somewhere warm and are growing a garden right now, give us the strength to get through winter. Inspire us with you garden tales and pictures.

Another article you may enjoy. Click the image below to go there.




_________________________________________________________________

Thank-you for taking the time to read my posts.

I really appreciate you for doing that.

Read more of my stuff @beyondordinary

If you like the post, please encourage me with an Upvote and share my stuff by Resteeming or Sharing a link on your favorite Social Network sites.

Sort:  

Yes, winter should be all about hibernation and planning for Spring! It feels so unnatural that so many people still doggedly continue with their 9-5s into the depths of the darkest days, they should be at home snuggling and planning! Upvoted and followed :) Kate

Yes! I like to use winter to catch up on my reading. If I could get away with it, I would hibernate till it’s time to start my early plants.

You are a person after my own (garden) heart!
YES- YES- YES... preplan the garden!

I could spend hours designing, then re-designing my garden for next year

I flip through seed catalogs more than anything all year-round- lol

My problem is, I always run out of garden space before I run out of new varieties to try!

Same here, so next year I'll be having more containers. I'll even be using part of our driveway area too.

I do a lot of planning, reading, and Amazon list creating :D You are absolutely right about #2, especially with Potatoes; if you want your purple viking better order now!

Most of the sites I’ve visited are out of things like garlic and a few potatoes already. I hope that means more people are putting in gardens!

I think more people are gardening than ever. There are also a lot of CSAs and market gardeners that are popping up everywhere. I better go order those soon :D

Got my first seed catalog today. Baker Creek Heirloom seeds. I will be looking to see what is new this year.

BC puts out a beautiful catalog. It’s one of my favorites places to pick up new varieties to try.

Congratulations @beyondordinary! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @beyondordinary to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45