Aphids

in #gardening7 years ago

The leaves on the lilac are curled and puckered.  Right around the corner of the house the viburnum suffers from the same problem with a clear, sweet, sticky substance or "honeydew" that falls on the sidewalk beneath it.

Last year the quince, which is close by, also showed signs of these pests.  Washing the leaves with soapy water was tedious but it helped a little .  

The other day I was out walking and a ladybug hopped on to my sleeve so I carried it to the lilac bush.  I remembered then that these are natural predators so we ordered some.

After a thin shower overnight I brought the bugs out to the infected bushes and sprinkled them around at dawn.

Now it is raining, thankfully, on the newly planted gardens so I hope the new arrivals have recovered from the dehydration of their journey here and will spread their beneficial and natural control.


Sort:  

I have powdery milde on my zucchinis thanks to the sprinklers! :(
Wish we had rain, so glad you did!
I love lilacs! Enjoy your garden!🌿

We have a few bushes around and one, Ms. Kim, that I got for a Mothers Day present when we first moved here. It blooms much later than the others, is just finishing now, and is so fragrant!
The flowers and ornamental bushes were all selected for their fragrance. Hope the ladybugs can keep them clean.

Try sprinkling corn meal on the zucchinis. That might help.

Thank you! I will definitely try that!🌱

For fragrance I grow gardenias, Jasmine and various sent pelargoniums and herbs, it's such a treat to have this natural perfume in our gardens right? ⭐️

indeed.
Wish I could grow jasmine and gardenias. But last year we planted tree lilies that get so tall and have so many blossums and the deer seem to leave them alone.

That sounds lovely!

Jasmine grow like weeds here but gardenias require a little more love☺️

Don't worry if the ladybugs themselves aren't around for long, it's actually the larvae the ladybugs lay that will eat the aphids!

good to know as we have not seem them around the area where I left them. Thanks for the information.
Do you have them naturally or did you import them from a dealer?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71