Got Our Peppers In Today! I Think I Like To Plant In These Barrels.

in #gardening6 years ago

I was busy today, as you saw in yesterdays post we cut barrels down. I got them 8 half barrels full of soil, it took two bags of 1 cu ft apiece to fill each of the barrel halves. I got some pepper plants going in them. It is some jalapenos, sweet banana pepper, and some hot banana peppers planted today. We got two strawberry plants in bigger pots and we got twenty-four peppers plants in today.

0402181928.jpg

Cutting A Barrel In Half, With A Circular Saw.

We were cutting some of the other barrels down and get ready to plant out tomatoes. We have six Beefsteak and six Roma tomatoes to plant. I have all the cherry tomatoes started just are not ready to go into their containers yet. I need to finish tilling the garden area and I have three big roots to get out of it. Not sure how that is going to happen but we will figure it out and get it done. Corn, peas, beans and the watermelon and cantaloupe will be going in the garden, as far as we know right now if something changes we will not be surprised. LOL.

0402181954.jpg

This Is The Barrels We Cut In Half Yesterday. We Planted Our Peppers In Them.

Sorry, I did not get any new pictures for you to see but it got dark on us and the pictures did not come out at all. I will try to get some tomorrow and show you what we planted today. I if we get more planted tomorrow I will show you that too. It has been a long hot day here and it is time to get a shower and relax. So I hope everyone has a great night/day, whatever it is in your neck of the woods.

Please Do Not Forget To Follow, Upvote And Resteem!


Please Help Support Our Veterans

Delegate To The "Humvee" Bot @shadow3scalpel


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

Nice. Does the climate allow for the real peppers? Like the Ghost pepper? :)

Yes, it does. We have not found any of those to grow as of yet but we are looking. We are looking for the habanero pepper also.

Awesome. I love peppers. :)

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Hey, do you start your peppers right in the barrels or in seed trays?

These were not started by me. I bought these at the store. I have some bell peppers that I started from seed inside right now. Will be putting them out soon.

Ah, gotcha. Thanks for answering. I'm new to gardening and farming. All I hear varies from person to person, source to source, so I keep asking until I either get a consensus or I come to find a way that works for me.

Yes, you need to find a way that works for you. You will nor be happy with gardening until you find your own sweet spot, so to speak, getting your hands dirty and growing your own food should be a fun thing. So get lots of opinions and them build to suit your needs. Just have fun playing in the dirt!

Been doing just that. Had my hands dirty this evening getting some pepper seeds in a starter tray, also chopped up some ginger for it's preplanting phase. Loving this new farm life!

Those are awesome planters! Hope you made sure you have plenty of drainage.

Oh yes, They have about 12 or so 1/8 inch holes drilled in the sides at the bottom of the barrel.

i followed you @a-0-0

Beefsteak, good choice!

I thought so too. As we use them alot for sandwhiches and salads and such. The Romas are going to be for my sauce and such.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89