You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five ways to make compost and build soil

in #gardening7 years ago

I think you're correct that good soil is hard to come by - especially in quantity. Something always needs to be tweaked. You've got several good processes and sources going on that will stand you in good stead going forward.

I might have to try the potatoes in the leaf pile method. Heaven knows I certainly have plenty of leaves! Thanks for sharing all the great tips. It's definitely a help!

Sort:  

It seems to be almost an infinite need for more compost and soil. Each year the beds that have already been filled sink down a bit and need topping up.

And I am also planning on more raised beds - I think there is space for another dozen or so yet.

The raised beds take a lot more volume than it seems at first glance. Plus, the settling doubles or even triples requirements over the years. It's difficult to maintain, let alone expand, but it's so worth the effort!

Yes it is an ongoing task, but I see the soil in the beds getting better and better each year.

Today I'm going down the lane to harvest more leaves. The trees are now about two-thirds shed of leaves. In a few weeks I will do the final sweep along the lane ready for winter. Clearing the leaves makes the lane easier to drive on as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65692.54
ETH 2944.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67