You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Perfect Moment Had A Bite Taken Out Of It

in #gardening7 years ago

Dang, that's just no fair. No way, no how. I hope you get at least one more perfect one before the season is over.

I did a search for 'tomato bite marks' and it looks like it might be squirrels, but there are look alikes according to this paper:

Squirrels prefer fruits which are beginning to ripen and often eat only a few bites before discarding the tomato and proceeding to find another.
Look alikes: Other fruit chewers, such as, tomato fruitworm, birds, crickets, ground squirrels (chipmunks), turtles, raccoons, etc.

http://www.missouribotanicalgarden.org/Portals/0/Gardening/Gardening%20Help/Visual%20Guides/Tomato%20Fruit%20Problems.pdf

Sort:  

You always have the best information! That link was great. See some of my tomatoes are just deformed looking. They are fine and growing but they just grew all wonky shaped. Catfacing is the word that site used. My husband's fertilizer might have been the problem. I'm wanting to think it was a bigger animal than squirrels. My 4 guard cats are almost always around the garden so they keep out squirrels but not the big things like raccoons and possums.

Thanks... I just get lucky with the key words sometimes. I'm so glad it helped! We get to learn so many useful things here and I actually bookmarked this one. Wouldn't have if you hadn't shown the picture and asked the questions.

Teamwork!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64337.17
ETH 3175.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56