Ragtag Garden, Part 33

in #gardening7 years ago

Being that the zucchini plants have bit the dust, it's time to see if I can get a fall/winter crop out of the same container.


I ran across some old carrot and radish seeds. These are 'taped' seeds. The theory is it helps with even-ish spacing, especially with the smaller seeds - like carrots. I'm considering this an experiment, because these seeds expired a few years ago. They've been at a stable temp and in the dark all along, so we'll see if they're still viable.

Of course, I can't resist crowding them a bit. These rows are supposed to be a foot apart. The days to harvest are far enough apart, that I think the radishes will be done well before the carrots. I also planted the radishes in the outside two rows, the carrots in the inner two. Since the carrots need so much longer, the extra insulation the dirt provides may be helpful to get them past hard frosts. They might need extra protection in a full freeze, though. I'll have to wing it according to how mild or harsh the fall decides to be.

This is the first time this season the tomato plant has had two ripening fruits at once. Usually, I'd pick one, then the next in line would start to turn. Looks like they're going to try to race the end of the season, which is fine by me.

The pepper plant is keeping pace with the tomatoes. It took a couple of shots to capture all six, and even then, the one lowest of the plant is barely visible behind the leaves. I'll probably pick the one that's turning orange soon. The rest will stay put as long as possible.

The poles beans are looking a little worse for wear, but still producing. It's easy to notice the yellowing leaves, but if you look a little closer, these plants are nowhere near giving up. They're STILL making new leaves (dark green & shiny) and blossoms! Amazing!

Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!


RECAP:

It started here - Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit.
Which turned into this - Ragtag Garden.

Here's A Scorecard For Newcomers

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!
Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

@aunt-deb I bought the same seed tape for my carrots and out of 250 I got 4 plants. I followed all the instruction and that was it, so I am not a fan, but hey I am so glad you are experimenting my seeds were not old at all, I had purchased in June. It was disappointing, and lost all that time waiting for them to come up. Great post and experiment. Please post results thanks.

Good to know and thanks for the info! If memory serves, I tried these first in a raised bed. They sprouted pretty well, but they didn't mature as well as I'd hoped. The bin has a different soil mixture, so I thought I'd give it a shot. Besides, these were the only root crop seeds I had handy. Lol!

Will do on the udpates!

Thanks @aunt-deb looking forward to results

Yeah more goodies from the garden. What a deal. Tomatoes and peppers still coming on strong. 🐓🐓

Hubby has been very happy with the quality of both tomatoes and peppers, so I'm going to try saving the seeds for next year.

Thinking of y'all. Hope you're weathering the storm okay!

If you are happy then hubby is happy right! You have done a hec of a job with your little modified garden. We are scared but ok. Wind and bands of rain have hammered us since early this morning. Will pass over our area tomorrow morning. 🐓🐓

Yup! It's nice to bring him my 'little gems'. He's not been able to come out to see them (health issues make stairs a barrier), so I get to surprise him now and again.

Good to hear you're all safe! Continued positive thoughts winging your way...

Sorry about your hubby not being able to join you with the gardening.. .. I am sure he appreciates the treats you bring him. Weather people say it is starting to slow down. Don't see it happening here yet. Gotta go check on the chickens. Those girls have had a hec of a day! They still laid 4 eggs today. Maybe out of fear! Lol.

Hopefully, he'll be able to make it out there eventually. He's re-building his strength after a nasty diabetes episode. Stairs are still a challenge, but he's getting better daily.

Go girls! Take that, Irma!!! Your chickens are no 'chickens' - at least not the cowardly type.

Keep your head down and stay safe!

So cool that you're gardening in buckets! We live in Panama and are just using what we have at the moment - which just happens to be gallon jugs from milk! We cut the tops off and fill them with whatever seeds we get out of the fruit we are eating. We have quite a collection and most of them need to get into the ground soon as they are getting kind of tall for the milk jugs. Anyway, your pics and plants look great. Thanks for sharing!!

It's amazing what some seeds and a little bit of dirt in just about any container will turn into! Great idea on the milk jugs! Sounds like you've got the makings of an orchard.

Thanks for the kind words and welcome to Steemit!

Everything is growing lovely, I do like radishes, used to eat them like sweets :)

Thank you, @karenb54! They are good for a quick snack. I liked them sliced on salads, hubby just munches 'em whole. Just the right amount of 'zip' either way.

Your welcome @aunt-deb, I like to much them whole but now only allowed a couple as they give me heartburn :)

Im betting the carrots do just fine :)

I hope so. The rows run east-west, so the north facing side has a good barrier of soil. If nothing else, it'll keep us entertained for a few more weeks. Lol!

You weren't kidding about the zuks biting the dust! Nothing but the stem...
The tomatoes and peppers are still looking pretty good. The Beans look like they're still doing well, they'll probably keep going for a while yet.

Yeah, they were so sad I couldn't stand looking at the poor things. It's kind of nice to be looking for new shoots again, instead.

I'm really impressed with all three of them & will be on the look out for the same varieties next year. I think I'll try to save a few seeds from these, too, as a back up. I really value your input on these considering you're about the closest - geography & weather wise. In other words, you're a great gauge to measure against! You've even got me thinking about how I can do potatoes next season... Thanks!
;~P

Potatoes in the big containers. :-)

Ooohhh, good idea! I could probably pick up a couple more bins at the dollar store, too. Spuds are my #1 favorite veggie, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94