Ragtag Garden, Part 28

in #gardening7 years ago

Real life has dared to intrude on my Steemit time lately and it's damn annoying!

To combat withdrawal symptoms and help with my sanity, I managed to make a trip out back to check on the garden. The zucchini are doing well. Two zukes are harvest-ready so far.

I let one of the peppers stay 'on the vine' until it changed from yellow to orange, just because it looks so neat!

I took some (shaky) footage of picking them so you can get an idea of the actual size of the veggies.

Yay! I can barely wait to use these...

Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!


RECAP:

It started here - Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit.
Which turned into this - Ragtag Garden.

Here's A Scorecard For Newcomers

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!
Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

I'm so impressed by your 'ragtag' garden, aunt-deb! There's nothing like fresh veggies--bet they were delicious!

Thanks! It's been fun seeing what a few 'thrown together' buckets can produce. I've been tickled to get anything at all!

I've still got a half a zucchini to use... Lol!

The ever-abundant zucchini--lol! I remember a neighbor of ours when I was a kid who always had a ton of zucchini from his garden to share with us and it was always a challenge to figure out what recipe to work it into.

Best series going on here.

Thank you, hon! Blushing...

Holy Zucchini! Amazing what you can produce out of a bucket of dirt! That pepper looks magnificently huge when put next to the Zucch!

Bucket of Dirt.

LOL

I'm still amazed I'm getting anything out this project. Lol!

That pepper was impressive. Biggest one, so far! I liked the color combo, too - the orange against the dark green showed them both off.

It's nice to have them so fresh, too. Hard to beat homegrown!

So much yum! It's a great feeling to harvest what goes on your plate yourself. I wish you an infinite bounty friend!

Glad to see you back here on steemit! I like those peppers. Love to slice them, pickle them, and put them on my Italian sandwiches. Yummy...🐓

Thanks, hon! Some days it feels like I'm juggling alligators, chainsaws and bowling balls... thankfully, today wasn't one of 'em. Lol!

I'll have to try and get this variety of pepper again. This one is sure impressing me with production! I'll bet you'd have some luck with peppers down there. They sure don't mind the heat.

Haha on the juggling, not the situation but the description! Yes, peppers of all types do very well here.

love the orange pepper, and the update. Can't wait to see your new baby plants get big.

It's so neat to see all the transformations they go through. Thanks for stopping by and I'll definitely keep the progress reports coming.

What are you going to cook with them? Hope we get to see :)

Hubby mentioned something about a veggie medley over pork chops which sounded tasty. The zucchini is more than we'll need for that, so I'll have to give some thought for what's left over.

Pics will be provided when we throw this together - to make y'all hungy...

;~P

Look forward to it, it will taste so much nicer knowing its grown with your very won hands :)

I know what you mean about real life getting in the way of Steemit. I haven't been able to do much in the way of posts lately instead I tend to just do a quick trawl through my feed to see who is posting. Your veggies are looking good. It's great being able to finally use the product of your hard work and you also know the growing history behind them. I always have a slight nagging feeling in the back of my mind when I buy veg from a supermarket. You never know what has been sprayed on them or how they have been grown. I look forward to seeing more from your garden.

The trawl through the feed is right! At least we can squeeze in some lurking. ;~P

Agreed on store-bought veggies. We have a few fruit/veggie markets that are pretty good about knowing the product's background - most of which is as local as they can get. That's helpful, because the chain grocery stores are a real gamble. You're right that home-grown is the most satisfying!

They also seem to taste better too. I don't know if that is a psychological thing or not (because they are our little babies!) but things have more flavour.

My mom always would make a buttered toast and pepper (sliced long wise) sandwich. You are halfway there with ingredients lol.

I remember you mentioning this in an earlier post or comment, I think. Do you just use the peppers raw?

I could see my hubby trying this. He's more adventurous than me, so I might have to run it passed him...

I add bacon to my peppers and toast sandwich. I typically use the Dellano Mild Chunks. YUMMY!

Oh yeah, bacon makes everything better! I'll definitely have to tell hubby about this one. Thanks!

Sounds good and yummy for sure.

We need to have a meetup in Deb's fancy awesome backyard clearly

(:

Such a pretty pepper. It would be good on a pizza. But I like a little spice on my pizza. Glad to see you've got a nice harvest coming in.

It probably would work on a pizza and look good in the process.

My favorite 'spicy' pizza is a local joint that uses ground pepperoni by the fistful and folds the crust half-way over the top, so you end up with a stuffed crust. Trust me, you need the crust to tame the filling. Their ground pepperoni - solo - can make you cry. Now I cry because I can't have it anymore. Sniff.

Thanks for the support, hon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78