Putter-Projects: Front Yard Planters

in #gardening7 years ago

You may remember these planters from the first Putter-Project: From Rescue To Over-Run.

The plants are looking a little ragged, but that's normal for them this time of year. Plus, I'd imagine the transplant probably weakened them some. No worries, though. They're tough and I'm sure they'll be just fine. The petunias have settled in nicely and are blooming on a regular basis.

Besides, they're not the focus this project. Where they're sitting is. Normally, the little space they occupy is mulched for weed control. As you can tell, it's been a while since that's been tended.

Right Side

Left Side


After moving the big planter to the side, the most efficient way to tackle the overgrowth was to just rip it out by hand. Some of it came up easy, but some were a real fight. Eventually, both sides ended up looking like this. Bet you didn't even catch the ring of pavers under that mess...


I did the usual landscape fabric treatment, using a few pins around the perimeter to keep the squirrels from digging underneath. They LOVE to bury things in there. I left a little excess fabric, too. Rolling it under to fit the space and holding it down with the mulch will work well enough.

Oh, and by the way, the big red 'planters' had a previous life. They were the bottom portion of the sand filter for the now-removed swimming pool. Each of them suffered some damage during a winter resulting in leaks. Not acceptable in a pool filter, but perfect for re-purposing as a flower planter. I need some more red paint.

Overall, I'm pleased with the outcome despite aching from shoulders to toes. Even my hands hurt. Time for another round of aspirin and a long, hot shower.

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

Looks great!

Hooray for upcycling!

And a lovely weekend to you!

Amen! Turns out they became my most 'expensive' planters. No way were they getting tossed. ;~D

Have a delightful weekend yourself, hon!

I love re-used items as planters! At my old place there was an old wash machine tub that made a great planter! :)

It's amazing what can turn into planters! That sounds like the perfect use for a wash tub!

Once started puttering in the garden, it is so hard to stop. Yes, followed by a shower, aspirin , and a salopas. Haha! 🐓🐓

Wow, you really tackled this project. You will barely be weeding at all now if any. We put down fabrif in our flower bed about 3 summers ago and this summer I've had to go out about 3 times to weed. The nice thing is the weeds come up super easy. We did not, however, put down mulch this year like I usually do, so that could be my issue. It looks really nice...and no, I didn't notice the planters.

Thanks! It was a little tougher than I expected, but am soooo glad it's done. The fabric is a real help. You're right that keeping up with the mulch is key. It's easy to put off, but boy, if it's kept up, the weeds just slide right out.

Btw, the mulch I'm using is the cheapest non-treated I could find. Check out Menard's, it's about $2 or so a bag. Even better if you catch a sale.

Upvoted! Thanks for sharing this nice post.

Nice work!
I wondered what those red planter things were, now I know. :-)
As for the aches and pains...yep, I know the feeling!

Thanks! They've done a good job in their second life and have lasted a lot longer at that then at their first job.

You're so handy with that fabric. Looks nice. I once lived in a place with a pecan tree. The squirrels would bury them so we had little pecan trees constantly growing. Usually we mowed over them. Didn't need more than one of them.

Thanks, hon! That stuff is the bomb for weed control so I've come to rely on it.

Those little critters are non-stop, I swear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81