Putter Project - Flowers For The Front Steps

in #gardening7 years ago

I've been meaning to get my impatiens planted for a week, but only managed to find the time today.

We were expecting company later in the day for a visit around the firepit and a light dinner, so this afternoon I grabbed my chance to get these things planted and still have time to prep for visitors.

An added perk is that I can sit on the front stoop and do all the work within easy reach. That made the job simple and clean up a snap.


Last year, I had a bright red variety for a pop of color in this full-time shady spot. I couldn't find a red I liked this year, so I chose this hot purple/pink instead. I think they'll do nicely!

I'd noticed that the soil level was going to need topping off, so I had some of my 'super-duper' container dirt handy. It took all of ten minutes to clear the debris from the top of the planters.

Only a few of the plants were actually flowering, so I gave them the 'pole position' as the first you see when you're coming up the walk towards the door. I think the the others (knock wood) will be flowering once they get established. They all got a little of the fresh dirt as a boost.

Here's hoping they like their new home!


Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

Love the name of this post! Putter Project could be a regular name for a series. Don't know if you ever used it before, but I can dig it.

Lol! Thanks and yes, I used it when I tackled the run-away plants in my front yard containers. It does have a nice ring to it and it covers just about anything. Heaven knows my to-do list is long enough!

Hi there ✌🏻 I'm Vikky and I'm a new steemer! Lets be friends ! I'm not flooding/spaming, I'm just sharing funny stories with pictures about my golden retriever puppy Mr. Oliver 🐶🐶🐶 Follow me back and vote for my posts if you're interested in them! Thanks a lot ❤️

Hi, @vikky, and welcome to Steemit. Puppies are always a good topic around here. I'll be on the look out for them.

Cool! Take a look at the last post! I created some memes with a funny pic of my puppy 😂

I love the color and the way they fill in so that soon you have a full pot of color.
An added perk is that I can sit on the front stoop and do all the work within easy reach. That made the job simple and clean up a snap.

Yes, any job that can be done easily motivates me!

Maybe you can consider using the new tag that @old-guy-photos just started so all of your posts will show up on this page.
https://steemit.com/trending/oldtimers
Their is one limit...you have to be more than one to use this tag!

Thanks! It's such a dreary spot otherwise. Quick and simple is always a plus. LOL!

Good call on the #oldtimers tag. I forget to use it. I ought to keep a list of those kinds of tags handy.

I think the memory thing qualifies you right away for this new tag.

HA! You're right!

Company is always a great excuse and motivator to get our crap together and done, isn't it!? Haha I can't wait to see them all filled in!

No kidding on the motivation. Lol! Fingers crossed they'll take off for me. I don't exactly have a green thumb, so these things are always a crapshoot...

The only difference, I think, I between a green thumb and not is remembering to water! Lol

Then I should be good to go with these guys... this spot floods easily. Ha!

That's a pretty plant. Is it edible at all?

Thanks! I don't think I'd recommend eating it. It may have some medicinal properties, but that would be beyond my knowledge of them.

I'll stay with just using them for color in a shady place.

Good thing you got them planted, they were getting impatient... :-)

LOL! That, too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62404.06
ETH 2426.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65