You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Selling Your Own Produce, Essential Do's and Don'ts

in #gardening8 years ago

Thanks for the post, it is great to hear from people actively producing and selling at that scale. We have plans in the future to sell at our local market, but have to keep reminding ourselves that first we have to produce enough for ourselves, consistently. I guess it's along the same lines as your piece of wisdom about pursuing for a few years, but for us we have to remember the 'goal' is not to get to market and profit -- that is a happy by-product of abundant, successful production.
Would love to read more about your story, the year-to-year and the ups and downs.

Sort:  

You want to be in that zone where you are self sufficient enough that in pays for itself. Then you could think about quitting a job to be able to devote even more time and energy to grow hundreds of a few particular crops instead of the usual family size in the backyard. I'm blogging about my family's attempts at self sufficiency, growing and preserving food etc. Next year will be my first big garlic crop if we can keep things together financially I think I may have finally found my calling.

@aubergedulis I couldn't agree more. Growing food to feed yourself should always come first!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69