Gardening on a Hill.

in #gardening6 years ago

It's the time of year for gardening and the last few weeks have had me so busy that I haven't had time or energy for anything else! One of the big jobs is the first time weeding of the hill garden. I really must get some mulch in place to minimize this yearly chore. Now that it's done, I will share some pics with you.

image.jpeg

This area is mostly in the shade and the plants here include various types of hostas, primroses, sweet woodruff, astilbes, and bleeding heart...to name a few.

image.jpeg

This shade garden is on the other side of the path overlooking our "park". Soon I will be adding some helleborus and cowslip here.

image.jpeg

This next area is part sun and here you will find hollyhocks, monarda, lunaria, columbine, lambs ears and veronica. We like using natural materials like logs and rocks to border it.

image.jpeg

This area is mostly sunny with daylilies, iris, asters, daisies, coneflower and lupins.

Growing a garden on a hill makes a nice display, but is very hard on the knees and feet! This garden is only two years old. Previously it was a mass of rocks, weeds, wild rose and brambles. @brimax took care of that during the first few years that we lived here! Once I fill the entire area with perenniels and mulch, I think it will be much easier to care for. Or maybe I am just kidding myself! In my next post, I will post some close-ups of the flowers. Thanks for visiting my garden blog! 🌻

Sort:  

We live at the foot of a mountain and our biggest problem is lack of soil @anise.
@pennsif has been trying to improve the quality of the soil for the vegetables in an organic way as well so all the -cides are not allowed...
I do like flowers and the previous owner of the this house kept bees so we're still fortunate to have a few lovely flowering bushes and hardy ones left... It is a struggle as you say : the kneeling and bending down at odd angles...
I look forward to seeing more of the flowers that you mention because I only know a few names 🌷

Yes, the soil on our hill was lacking in humus and very rocky. Luckily we keep chickens so there is always lots of composted straw and manure to improve the soil. Growing vegetables organically is quite admirable but sometimes impossible to fight off the insect pests! I try to use natural pest control whenever possible but there are times when all else fails..... 😳 I even spend hours hand picking bugs and squishing! Ugh!

Hello Friend how are you? the farm is very big they have a lot of space to have more plants that is what you like. you take care of the farm very well I admire them and I like everything they do for yourselves, very grateful for your support

Hello! I wish I had more energy so I could take better care and have more plants! 😀

Your hard work is shown @anise... the place is looking so beautiful. ☺ you arrange your garden so wonderfully. After grown up years this place will look amazing i am sure about it.👍

Yes, it is hard work and getting harder every year as I get another year older! But very enjoyable work and a nice reward. 🌸

It is spring and it is a beautiful time, I see that when you live on a farm you have a lot to do, it is good to learn from you even though the climate of my country is very different because it is tropical.

Everything is very beautiful, they do a good job

Spring is my favourite time of year. I love to see nature come back to life after the winter!

If I also believe it, it is full of so many colors

I have never tried gardening on a hill, I like to plant plant in my blog you can see it was a good experience even if it takes a little work this would be good, spring comes and with it a lot of work I hope you can show us more of this, I will be attentive .

Greetings to @brimax and Candy

Yes, I see you like to grow plants too. I look forward to it all winter and spend many hours planning and learning. Gardening is my passion! ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63