Protecting my Potatoes from 'Drowning' in the Garden

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

About a half hour ago, we had another torrential rainfall roll in - the second in as many days!!!

Fortunately, the elderly neighbor who I was checking in on by phone has better ears than mine, and asked if I just heard thunder nearby...(I hadn't) but, the question prompted me to glance towards the window and bend an ear to it.

YIKES, OH MY GOD and DAMNIT recklessly escaped from my jaws, across the wire and into the astonished auditory receptors of the good, Church going, old Christian woman on the other end of the line... (I'm going to Hell, for sure)

Geraldine had just returned from her Hospital stay for a heart condition, a mere twenty minutes earlier; 'I' almost sent her back there, gasping for air...but, I swear it was not intentional...

With a frightening blast of hurried words, I screamed "I GOTTA GO AND COVER MY POTATOES IN THE GARDEN..."

Fortunately, Gerry somehow understood, and replied with, "Okay...I have to get out there in the garden myself."

I quickly shoved the phone into my shorts and darted out the backdoor; startling my poor cat speedily off in the direction of the fence, hopping over it and disappearing through the underbrush in sheer terror...

My mission was accomplished just in the nick-of-time...the rain turned from a mild sprinkle into a raging downpour of epic proportion, soaking me to the bone before I ever reached the shelter of the porch.

100_2713.JPG

As you can see in the photo, these potatoes are obviously being grown in a container and although there's ample drain holes, who knows if they were good enough to fend against two back-to-back rainstorms? (I wasn't going to take any chances) The little darlings might have drowned...!?!?!?

Anyway...here's a picture (below) of the stems creeping up above the mulch for the third time since sticking the spud in.

100_2715.JPG

This is one of my experiments to see how many potatoes I can get from a late planting, and to see how BIG they get :>)

Now that the stems have poked out three different times after having been covered over again, I'm gonna let it grow another few inches before adding more mulch halfway up this time around. Letting the stems and leaves see daylight from now on, will prompt them to start forming babies below.

So, my friends...there you have it...my latest potato story now, I have to go look for my poor cat to coax back home again...

I'd better check on the old woman around the corner too while I'm at it...make sure she's alright and see if she needs anything from the store.

Gerry is almost 90 years old, and alone since her husband died some years back. She's done pretty good health wise till recently...so, I check on her and help her out when I can.

I'm outta here again for now my friends; see ya when I see ya...

Ciao


Another Delightful Day in the Dungeon from @AngryMan on Steemit, August 18, 2019

Sort:  

It seems like there has been rain all over the east coast the last couple days which I'm guessing is unusual for August.

Yeah Mike...the rain was frequent a bit late for Spring, then July was fairly normal. Suddenly, we've been getting the type of stormy weather, which more commonly doesn't happen until Sept. hurricane season.

Thanks for the note; always a pleasure hearing from you.

A sculptor, a horticulturist and now a good samaritan. Is there no end to the magnificence of angryman?

Ya got me blushing now Ms Deirdy… :>)

Careful mate you seem to be scaring everything around you🤪. Hope the spuds survive well after all the commotion.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah...seems I'm a scary guy...???? Maybe I should stop walking around with meat cleavers stuck in my waistband?

Ah that might be your issue carrying around those meat cleavers🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 45.55% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @angryman! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 1.5 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61779.77
ETH 2434.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62