Sort:  

Great topic..."weeds"!

My understanding of "weeds" goes like this.

First of all, they are doing what they are supposed to... Covering the bare earth like our body growing a scab over a wound.

Secondly, they are adapted to the location of the garden. Our veggies come from all over the planet and have been tinkered with to be tasty and beautiful and prolific...not to be suited to my specific location.

My third bit is they are wanting you to notice them, learn what they have to offer the situation. I welcome their help in the garden and their nutrition for my body.

"Weeds" are often 10 times more nutritious than the veggies we are asking them to share space with.

They are doing good but often unseen things for your garden...we add a lot of new material to a space when we claim it as a garden...they help to process it, assimilate it... Get it working with the rest of ecosystem of the garden. They call in insects and critters to do their part.

Ok... Well, those are some beginning thoughts on "weeds".. We tend a garden with the expectation of it feeding us...yet complain about it answering our expectations with healthy abundant wild food...

If we were to make a parallel argument with people rather than plants as the subject...I think we would find a lot more tolerance and cooperation in our approach and thinking.

Just some thoughts...hugs all!

The most prevalent weeds in my garden are Lambs Quarter, Dandelion, and Purslane, all edible. You would think that eating them would make them retreat.

I think they grow better and quicker because they are smarter than your average gardener. They know exactly when to sprout, where to grow, and how to survive.

They also must know when I'm not looking coz then they take over!

LOL @andysantics48! I would like to know that too :-)

I know right - they just keep expanding right before my eyes!!! The more I pluck the more there are!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82