Garden Update part 4

in #gardening7 years ago

IMG_1579.JPG
I had to buy the tomatoes but the cucumbers are mine

IMG_1569.JPG
We finally harvested our first zucchini! We have been enjoying the fruits of our labor. Our favorite zucchini dish.
Dug the potatoes this week. Not much there. As I had said earlier I think the intense heat we had in July set them early.IMG_1581.JPG
My wife Kathy has been busy making jelly , freezing corn from the local market and processing our apples into sauce and juice. image.jpg
Our cucumber crop is doing amazing as usual. We have been spreading the wealth and handing out our extra.
I will soon be fermenting a batch of salt pickles for late fall munching. We are however tomato poor this year so will be looking to outside local sources for canning tomatoes. We try to keep a 2 year supply of canned goods in the food store. That is a lot easier to do now that there is just two of us. IMG_1580.JPG
Our pumpkins are coming along well but running a little later than usual. Hoping we don't get an early freeze. In the Blck Hills of Dakota we can freeze the 1st week of September, but usually it freezes the second or third week.
image.jpg
The fall planting is mixed. Onions and garlic are doing great. I will cover both with plastic to extend the season and finish them. You can see my home made hoops here. image.jpg
My lettuce and spinach are just coming up and the dang rabbits ate most of my green beans but they didn't get the peas . I now have a make shift fence around them.
image.jpg
That about wraps up this week in the garden till next time ![image.jpg]
()
All pics by me in the my own back yard. Thanks for reading !

Sort:  

MMmmmmmm, I love fresh dug spuds!!!

Congratulations @andre-ager! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74