Various flowers around the suburban homestead, AKA, the yardsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

A lot of the plants seem to be blooming right now, from the marigolds to the tiger lilies to the potatoes. I thought it might be interesting to post a few pictures of what's blooming around the suburban homestead right now.

First up is the tiger lilies.
DSCN7080.JPG

They do have really nice blooms.
DSCN7082.JPG

And close up.
DSCN7083.JPG

Then we have marigolds and petunias in one of the pots. I just put the petunias in this pot a few days before this picture, they're still adjusting to the transplant.
DSCN7086.JPG

Just marigolds.
DSCN7087.JPG

I seem to have a lot of marigolds...
DSCN7089.JPG

Then there's the borage in the garden. This is all self seeded from last years plants. I grow it mostly for the bees.
DSCN7090.JPG

The Yukon Gold potatoes have started blooming now.
DSCN7091.JPG

One last picture, the marigolds among the tomato plants.
DSCN7092.JPG

text divider.png
steem on.jpg

text divider.png

Thanks for stopping by and looking at my pictures, eh!

I hope you enjoyed the flowers!
As always, feel free to leave any comments or questions you might have.

Sort:  

I really like the red, yellow, and gold like marigolds. They're so firey! Love seeing the flowers around your place! I need to find some borage. They're such cool looking flowers and I really need more bee flowers for sure!! Thanks for sharing! <3

Thanks!
You should be able to buy borage seeds, if not locally, then on line. We got our seeds 3 or 4 years ago and haven't had to plant them since. If you leave them in the garden all season, they'll drop seeds all over the garden and you'll be pulling out the ones that you don't want.

It's probably too late for me to plant this year, but I'll be in the look out for next year! Thanks!

Well, they grow until the frost kills them, so you might have time to get a few started.

This post gets a 0.96 % upvote thanks to @amberyooper - Hail Eris !

The lilies are spectacular! Gorgeous blooms and so many!

It's neat that you included more than just flower blooms. Some the veggie and herb blossoms are equally pretty!

Yes, the tiger lilies are really impressive this year, especially so because the deer can't eat them this year due to a new fence.
In past years, the deer would eat the buds off the plants before they could bloom.

Nice photos. They are all beautiful.

Lovely garden! It is true that tiger lilies are spectacular this year. Strong enough to even beat the weeds in some places.
Unfortunately Lee got into the garden yesterday and ate/scratched up all the newly blooming nasturtiums and marigolds in one area. Such a pest! She has become a full time job these days.
I love all the rock/stone placements around your gardens!

I recommended this post for an upvote by @jerrybanfield and it got it!! The flowers are gorgeous! Thanks Jerry. Great post @amberyooper!

Thank you so much! I really appreciate that!

Great pics of your garden. Looks like you are doing companion planting. Growning certain plants together is beneficial. I wish I had the time and land to grow plants.

Thanks!
Yes, I do a fair amount of companion planting, it's good for the plants and the garden.

Love the deep oranges and yellows. Thanks 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68921.34
ETH 3929.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62