The first picking of my bush beans.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

I knew there was some nice beans on the bush bean plants, but it's been hot and muggy, and I was being lazy about picking them. We finally got a break in the weather yesterday, so I went out and picked the beans. I didn't really know what to expect, I have a single row of plants in the new raised bed, the row is roughly 11 feet long, the rest of the raised bed is being used for a compost pile this year. These plants are the bush Contender variety.

I started picking like this. That little rolling garden seat is quite useful for stuff like this. It was only 20 bucks, but it does the job well enough.
DSCN7328.JPG

As you can see, I have a few beans in the bucket.
DSCN7329.JPG

Here's a close-up of what I was finding.
DSCN7330.JPG

Here's the end result of my picking. I was surprised by how many beans I got from this one fairly short row of beans.
DSCN7331.JPG

The best part is that this was just the first picking. There's a fair amount of small beans on the plants and a lot of flowers. I should get a pretty respectable harvest from these plants. Now I just have to can them...oh well, it's part of the process, right?

text divider.png

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post, eh!

Hey, leave me a comment or a question, or even an upvote, if you would like to.

And don't forget!
steeming on.jpg

Sort:  

That is awesome. My garden is dead from the heat, but I did get in some spring peas and beans before the 115 showed up this year.

115, man, that's brutal!

Same here in Florida. I got a couple of crops from my green beans and then the heat destroyed them.

LOVE IT! I have been picking for about a week now. I have both bush and pole beans. I wanted to see which kind produced more fruit or Bean. LOL Thanks for the great post as always @amberyooper

Very good crop , i congratulate you , thanks for sharing friend @amberyooper

nice haul. About how many plants would you say produced that amount?

I believe that there's about 18-20 plants in the raised bed. It's a bit hard to tell for sure.

very nice looking beans. Last year I got an average of .4 - .5 lbs per plant, I had 600ish plants and sold 275 pounds plus maybe an extra 25 we ate. But that is the metric I am using to gauge my plants this year and already they look to be doing better so the average may be closer to .6 to .8 this year... I hope.

That's way too much bean picking for me! LOL

Very respectable batch! You're right about the next batch going by how many are just waiting in the wings. Well done!

Wow! That's a great crop! Mine looked nothing like that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56