You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Experiment of Growing Peas in a Container vs Growing Peas in a plot in the Garden....

in #gardening7 years ago

My thought, based on past experience with pots is that the dirt in the pots gets warmer than the dirt in the raised bed because of the sun. I think it tends to heat up the roots too much, especially for a cool loving plant like peas. I had tomato plants in big pots outside last year, and they didn't do as well as the plants in the ground. I finally realised that the sun was warming up the dirt in the pots too much. You could feel the difference pretty easily. On a cool cloudy day it doesn't make much difference, but when the sun is shining it can change the temperature of the dirt in a pot quite a bit.

Sort:  

Yes you are right about that, but the shine has had a difficult time trying to find Ontario this summer. LOL it's the endless rain....thanks for your advice

June was like that here, endless rain. I couldn't get beans to sprout, it was too wet, they were just rotting in the ground. The only beans that came up were in a raised bed.

This! I concur! Heat is the bane of peas, whether the soil, the air, or the sun, peas like a cool life.
Ugg, showing my age that I remember this but, "cool like Fonzi" is the pea life.

Upvoted the comment for the Fonzi refrence. :-)
I watched that show...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51