You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rosemary Rules

in #gardening7 years ago

I have a rosemary plant that I got last year and kept in the house all winter. I really enjoy the smell of the plant, but I wasn't aware of all these different uses for it. I'm still trying to figure out how to use it for cooking. :-)
I have it out in my greenhouse now, I kept forgetting to water it when it was in the house, and it gets more attention in the greenhouse.

Sort:  

Thank you from one rosemary lover to another ! They are fairly drought tolerant , which is a blessing in my case... I like hardier , less delicate and fragile plants, as I am not the most attentive sometimes when the weather isn't doing the work for me ! Rosemary has so many culinary uses ~ experimentation is the best guide. Typically, if you want to cook or bake with the herb, its better to wait until the last few moments for adding it in ~ you'll retain flavor and the powerhouse green goodness it brings to your body. We're bread lovers and it makes a fab infusion in good olive oil for a "dipping gravy" for crusty bread. Combine rosemary that you have crushed some to release its flavors with smashed garlic and some other spices to your liking ~ we like red pepper flakes, thyme and oregano in this use. Similarly , it makes a great addition to butter. Another option is to mix some chopped needles / leaves with plain greek yogurt for a sandwich spread. It is really chummy with potatoes, especially to dress up sweet potato fries . It adores being used goat cheese in an divine mac and cheese dish. We use it in brines for poultry and it marries well with steaks and fish as a crusting agent. So, enjoy your rosemary and blessings for many happy meals to come ! Thank you again for reading and commenting !! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75