You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I prefer pole beans over bush beans

in #gardening5 years ago

I've grown both pole beans and bush beans, and I agree with your points.
In past years, I've grown pole beans because they're easier to pick than bush beans. I had about 24 feet of trellis, so I was inundated with beans once they started getting ripe. I canned a lot of beans that year. They were still flowering at the beginning of October when the frost finally killed the plants. I had to pick a fair amount of them with a step ladder to get to the top of the trellis.
The past 2 years, I've been growing bush beans in raised beds. They're a lot easier to manage in a raised bed, picking is easier also. I also grow the bush beans in big containers. They're easier to pick, but they require more attention to the watering because the dirt in the containers dries out faster than a raised bed or the ground does.

Sort:  

It sounds like you've got your system dialed in well. A raised bed would make bush beans easier on my back and knees. Thanks sharing that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60700.74
ETH 2389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64