Garden update June 27steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Hi dere, and welcome to da garden, eh!
This is just an update on how my garden is doing. I took the pictures yestersay evening, after the rain stopped and the sky cleared out enough for the sun to shine through.

DSCN6988.JPG
This is a couple of big pots that were given to me by a friend who didn't have a use for them. I thought I'd try growing some beans in them to see how it works. I planted 2 year old bush type yellow wax bean seeds in them. These are an heirloom variety called Cherokee wax. Only about half of them sprouted. Normally I would blame the seeds, but it's been so wet this year that new bean seeds have been failing to sprout. I moved all the sprouts to the one pot and replanted the other yesterday. We'll see how that goes.

DSCN6989.JPG
This is the end of my row of Yukon Gold potatoes. They've been growing really well, I need to start hilling them. Behind them is my 3 rows of popcorn. Only a couple of those seeds didn't come up, so I'm pretty happy with them. I planted them about 3 weeks ago or so, so they're doing pretty well despite the less than ideal growing conditions lately, cool and rainy days. Behind them is the new raised bed with the bush type green beans. Those are the only beans that I planted that almost all came up the first time. Perhaps it was because of better drainage of the raised bed, but I don't really know.

DSCN6990.JPG
This is the new compost pile, ant the end of the new raised bed. It gets all the potato and carrot peelings, the coffee grounds, and whatever else seems like a good idea to put in there. I just threw in my pea plants from the greenhouse. They were done blooming and starting to die back.

DSCN6991.JPG
The carrot patch in the older raised bed. It needs to be thinned out soon...

DSCN6992.JPG
This is something I forgot about in the last garden post. This is my friend's bean trellis for the dry beans she grows every year. She grows an heirloom pole variety called Hidatsa shield beans. These are left to dry on the vines and picked before it snows, usually. The Hidatsa beans had poor germination the first time also and had to be replanted.
There's also a couple of zucchini squash plants there, and another zucchini in the raised bed that's full of dill plants this year. Dill is one of those plants that if you let it go to seed, you never have to plant it again. You usually have to pull it out of all the places that you don't want it. It can spread it's seeds fairly far. These plants are all from seeds from last year's plants.

DSCN6993.JPG
The corn patch. We grow hard corn, as I mentioned in my last garden post, not sweet corn. These should average about 10-12 feet tall if they doo as well as they have in past years. I also have 3 hills of squash in with the corn, and I planted a few Hidatsa beans by the corn stalks on the edge of the patch. They'll climb up the corn stalks as they grow.
Behind them in the raised bed are my red onions, and a couple of borage plants that found their way there from seeds from last year's borage.

Well ,that's pretty much it for this garden update. I hope you enjoyed the pictures!

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post, eh!
Feel free to leave me any comments or questions that you might have.
As always, Grow Food, Share Food!

Sort:  

I love the pole bean trellis! Real cool! Your new raised bed and compost looks great also! Good job!

Thanks! Now if we can just get more beans to sprout to grow on the trellis...

You have a beautiful garden! I have to hill my potatoes as well...so we are in the same boat.

It's all looking wonderful.

I have some scarlet runner pole beans in a container with one of those wooden teepee type trellises in it. It's very similar to what you're doing. They filled out nicely and look really pretty. I would imagine you should have somewhat similar results since the setup is so similar.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Amberyooper from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @amberyooper! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60812.47
ETH 2629.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62