Early Spring Greenhouse Update

in #gardening4 years ago

Hello, and welcome to my page, eh!

It's early spring here in this part of the country, so it's time to start preparing the greenhouse for the coming garden season. I don't have a way to keep the greenhouse warm at night if the temperature drops below freezing, so I won't be able to start putting plants in there for at least the next couple of weeks, and maybe not until mid May, depending on the weather. Still, now is a good time to start getting things cleaned up and ready instead of waiting until the last minute.

The greenhouse has been used as storage space all winter, so it was a mess to start with. This picture is from January. You can see my metal recycling storage here.
DSCN2812.JPG

The first thing I had to do was to find a place to put all the stuff that was in the way of getting to the pots. I was able to move a lot of the stuff, but I had to leave the tricycle and the garden wagon in the greenhouse for now.
DSCN2864.JPG

DSCN2865.JPG

At least now I can get to the pots to clean them out and prepare them for this year's plants. Another thing I have to take care of soon is getting the winter pond fish tank out of the greenhouse so that I can put displaced pots back into the spot where the tank is now. I uncovered much of the tank now that the night time temperature doesn't get as cold as it was during the winter. The water won't freeze now because it picks up daytime warmth. I still have the space between the tank and the outer walls insulated, that way the water doesn't cool off as fast at night. The water acts as a bit of a heat sink and gives off a bit of heat into the greenhouse at night.
DSCN2866.JPG

The next thing on my list of things to do is to pump most of the water out of the fish tank so that I can catch the fish and transfer them back out to the small outdoor pond. That pond is just a 150 gallon water trough that's mostly buried in the ground next to the front porch. The little pond is ready for the fish now, so it's time to get them back outside. I plan to save the water from the winter tank to use to water the tomato plants once I get them planted in the greenhouse.

Well, that's all I have for this post. Thanks for stopping by to check it out!

amber_yooper.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86