Building the small greenhousesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

This is the story of how I built my first greenhouse. I started working on it in the fall of 2011 and finished it in the spring of 2012.
greenhouse build pix 007.jpg
I used treated landscape timbers for the corner posts. I wouldn't recommend that to anyone now because the landscape timbers don't hold up very well when used as posts. I've had a few of them rot off id 4-5 years. I used them because they were cheap. I would recommend using treated 4X4s now, they're treated for direct burial and hold up much better.
The front of the greenhouse faces south so I used plywood for the back. No need to have the north side clear, and it can be insulated for better heat retention in the fall.
greenhouse pix 1-11-12 002.jpg
The front basically framed in. The two lower 2X4s are 10 footers, I had them on hand, so they got used.
greenhouse pix 2-7-12 002.jpg
The roof is framed in. It's simple construction, no need to make it any more complex than necessary.
greenhouse work 3-14-12 004.jpg
I used a piece of plywood to cover the lower part of the front wall, and I put used storm windows on the front for glass.
garden 5-25-12 003.jpg
This is how it looked in the summer of 2012.
I hope you enjoyed my little picture show. If you have any comments or questions, feel free to post them.
Don't forget to upvote. :-)

Sort:  

Informative! I've been looking to build a greenhouse recently.

This greenhouse looks so great! Well done @amberyooper!
You've must be so proud on this!

Yes, this little greenhouse served me well for 6 years. I built another section onto it a couple of years ago to get more space, but then last fall we built a bigger greenhouse with a higher ceiling and more floor space.

I love your green house so pretty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65