You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Move Over, Pluots! Spice Zee Nectaplums are My New Favorite Fruit

in #gardening7 years ago

@donkeypong Now is the time to do the pruning for the future shape of your tree. Plums are susceptible for weak crotches, especially the species with thorns. (Yes; I know it's a hybrid.) At this age, you should end up with an open vase shape. Select branches that go out at a right angle. Remove all cross branches. Also slip back the leader; forming a new one. This will help to squat out the tree. This technique exponentially strengthens the whole tree and sets the ability for a great framework of production. If you are unsure, write to me and I'll talk you through it.

Sort:  

Thanks for the great advice. I agree the open shape seems best for stone fruit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34