Sort:  

I got a couple Black Scorpion plants recently from a local grocery. If I recall, Moruga Scorpion and Ghosts are one in the same.

I'm just picking up a hanging pepper planter that I am thinking of using for one or both if possible as my little four legged buddy has had a track record for harassing my pepper plants.

Hoping they turn out as my reapers did not last season. I do have some chili pequens that seem promising. Love my peppers!

Good luck with your harvest!

I always check the internet for a more unique variety of peppers. In Korea, agriculture is still very traditional in the countryside and everyone in cities lives in apartments so we don't have all the interesting plants to choose from.

I still can't believe your dog eats the pepper leaves. I guess he is smart enough to avoid the actual peppers because I know unlike birds, dogs are affected by capsaicin. I've heard the peppers do well in pots as you can avoid a massive tree as I have. Just make sure it is large enough. I'm not sure if the typical hangers will be sufficient. You can also try mesh.

I also hope you have luck. I think I mentioned somewhere I had given up hope at late August, but got lucky last minute from pure neglect.

Looking good, @abitcoinskeptic.
Fall veggies... I actually haven't got a lot of those. I don't really know why... I wonder if it would be too late to get some cabbages going. need to look that up. I guess maybe the kind that overwinters and starts growing early in spring??? You've definitely given me some food for thought.
Right now, i'm kinda waiting for everything to die off... it's a bit sad. Maybe I should try and spice it up a little again by looking into some fall/winter/overwintering crops....

Koreans are too nervous to trust me to grow their cabbage because if they don't get kimchi, they will be very upset.

That one made me smile, lol. It sounds like kimchi is kind of a big deal over there :0)

Also, I never though about how peanuts grew - but I would never have imagined them growing in the ground. I guess I always assumed there grew on trees. Just looked it up and apparently they are classified as legumes and not nuts.

Another thing learned today :0)

I'm not too familiar with the climate where you live so it may be too late unless you have a greenhouse. I suggest that you try to plant garlic since that is usually planted in the fall and grows underground over the winter.

Koreans take kimchi extremely seriously, lol. Not having homemade kimchi would upset my entire family a lot.

In Korea peanuts are called "ddang-kong", 'ddang' means ground and 'kong' means bean. I guess the name makes more sense and they don't wonder how it is grown.

That translation does make more sense, lol.

I have quite some garlic in the ground already. i know it is generally planted in fall, but I like to plant it all year round. In my experience, it keeps the slugs away.

Such a lovely productive garden! I like that you can grow all year round and take advantage of the double growing season with your fall planting!
I have never heard of the Korean radish - is it a daikon radish? That would be huge if they grew to football size!
glad you shared the peanut harvest - I have never seen that before either! Can you eat them raw or do you need to roast them or something?
Thanks for sharing your garden with us!

It's hard to grow in winter, but tbe growing season is 8 to 9 months.

The Korean radish is similar to the daikon, but it's shorter and rounder with a green top. Maybe it gets closer to the size of a nerf football, but fingers crossed.

Asides from radish kimchi, I'm going to make this: https://www.maangchi.com/recipe/mumallaengi-muchim

The texture is really neat.

Right on my ghost pepper brother!

My friend grew reapers and he is making them into a fermented hot sauce right now.

If you recall my blog about it, my ghost peppers were a couple scovilles short of hell itself. So hot that I have decide to keep them out of my hot sauce for fear of making it so hot it would not be enjoyable even in the sport sense. I have taken half the harvest and fermented them alone. It will be perfect for adding trace amounts to other sauces to add a serious blaze to it.

Loving that you finally had a crop. We will be comparing growth in our different regions and our harvest of different varieties for years.

Right on man!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm really interested to hear how the fermented sauce turns out. I find my peppers have a really nice smell to them kinda like chipotle or a spicy pizza that is actually spicy.
Too spicy to put into your insano hot sauce sounds great. You should just make a really spicy distillate or something to add to your personal food.

I think I'm going to make a taco this weekend with an entire pepper just to see what it is like.

It will definitely be interesting to hear how different people do. In my case, the rainy season is usually late June ~ Early July, but this year it was rainy late July. We also got hit by the rain from a few typhoons (no serious damage in my region).

I just scraped off all my seeds, so I'm going to let them dry a couple more days in the sun then store them for next season.

Sounds great man!

I am definitely saving the ghost pepper only sauce in its own jar to add sparingly to other sauces. Don’t get me wrong, I love hot. It is just these ghost peppers are too damn hot and you would seriously cause permanent damage if you drank the batch I have fermented right now.

I will have to package up some of my ghost pepper seeds and see if I can mail them to you.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Those seem just like what I'm looking for, lol.

There is never an issue mailing samples of 'spicy pepper seasoning'. I can always trade some Korean hot chili peppers.

Thanks for sharing!
They looking really hot!!!

I can smell them when I walk into the room where I'm drying them. It keeps others out.

Your ghost pepper plant looks so healthy. If I'm not mistaken it is one of the world's hottest pepper right? I saw a plant once for sale. I was hesitant to buy it because plants always die out on me. Maybe it's the soil here in our area.

Yeah it's supposed to be hot but mine didn't get as hot as I was hoping.
I guess your soil isn't a huge problem unless it has no nutrients. These plants are tricky so best to read how to grow them. I've heard growing them in pots works well. Also they dont like to be watered too much and need good drainage. Good luck if you try again.

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Ghost peppers!
You're a gutsy person- I can't handle that type of heat.

I can't even notice the heat in normal hot sauces like Frank's Red Hot or Tabasco anymore.

Hi @abitcoinskeptic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.914 which ranks you at #4438 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 108 contributions, your post is ranked at #63.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Ah, there's the promised garden! May it live on in good shape!

I just made it in for September, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78