The Vanishing MonarchsteemCreated with Sketch.

Monarch butterflies are disappearing in record numbers. As a young child it would not be uncommon to see them in an about the garden on a regular basis. Unfortunately that is not the case today. Monarch butterflies are a rare occurrence and many young children do not even know what they look like.

Monarchs have many natural enemies—predators, parasitoids, and parasites can harm monarch eggs, larvae, pupae, and adults. Predators such as spiders and ants attack eggs and young larvae feeding on milkweed, whereas birds and wasps can prey on adult monarch butterflies. Parasitoids are specialized insects such as small flies and wasps that lay eggs on or inside other insects. Parasitoid larvae then eat their prey from the inside out, usually emerging from the prey carcass as a pupa or adult. Parasites are smaller organisms that live and multiply inside their hosts, taking nutrients and resources. Parasites can be unicellular microbes such as viruses and bacteria, or larger organisms like mites and nematodes.

In an effort to increase the numbers of monarch butterflies, Master Gardeners across the country are retrieving the eggs after they have been laid.

Last year I successfully raised and released nine monarch butterflies. It was an experience that was rewarding and fun for my family. And as you can see they eat constantly and POOP A LOT so it is a constant effort to keep them fed and their home clean.

Monarch butterflies lay their eggs and feed off of Swamp Milkweed.


After the eggs are retrieved they are placed in a safe home and reared under protected conditions.

So naturally when I saw a monarch in my garden yesterday I went out to investigate and sure enough, I was lucky enough to find 25 eggs and one small caterpillar. I collected the small white eggs and the caterpillar to prevent them from becoming someones dinner. Let me tell you it is no small effort,each leaf has to be inspected and with as many swamp milkweed plants I have, it took the whole day.

And so the cycle begins again.

As you can see the eggs are as tiny as a grain of sugar.

This little one was potential dinner out in the garden, so I brought him in and he has a separate home because monarch caterpillars are cannibals and can eat eggs and smaller caterpillars if they run out of food. So the rule is keep them fed!

This little one hatched this morning and has started his feeding frenzy


Photos and video were taken with my Canon Sure Shot SX50 and my Samsung S5 phone

Source: https://monarchlab.org/biology-and-research/biology-and-natural-history/parasites-natural-enemies/

Sort:  

Unfortunately the same can be said for most species, too many people see any life form as a pest, even pest control services for woodpeckers, insanity.

Agreed if people would just stop and take the time to admire the beauty around them instead of trying to control it nature would be much better off. Thanks for your comment.

This would be a fun adventure to do with my children.
I know that a lot of homeschoolers are starting to order butterfly larvae to raise.

You could plant swamp milkweed and maybe you won't have to order the larvae, I am sure your children would love the hunt!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by marymg2014 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thank you so much!!!

Good to see people that actually cares! I believe that monarch are one the most beautiful creatures out there. It's so sad that as human race where destroying their home

Thank you for your comment.

Great story!Thanks for sharing. I love the monarchs. We always have loads in our neighborhood. My neighbor has a caterpillar tent and does what you did. She releases dozens every week!

I have milkweed in my yard, so many come here and lay their eggs. I love to watch the caterpillars. One came inside our patio last year and made a chrysalis on the screen. It was so exciting to see the butterfly emerge. I released her in the garden, and hopefully she went on to lay more eggs. (I knew she was a female by her markings.)

I should look out my photos from that time and post them too.

You are lucky to see so many. My daughter lives in Florida and when we have visited we saw more butterflies than we see up north.

Yes, we are fortunate. I see many different types every day.

Very interesting post.

Upvoted!

Upvoted & RESTEEMED! :)

Thank you very much.

This was a wonderful post, I am so happy you shared it. I caught a Monarch caterpillar on my milkweed last week and he was chewing like no tomorrow. Today, I saw a Monarch butterfly in the garden, so excited to have them here.

If we all work together perhaps we can keep these beautiful butterflies from going into extinction.

this can be a good adventure to try with my 5 years old cousin

yes i too noticed that they are disappearing that sad

Thanks for stopping by to read my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84