My Raised Bed Garden......when it was new.

in #garden7 years ago (edited)

My garden now has a cattle panel hoop that goes from the second bed to the first bed side. I use it to grow beans, cucumbers and anything that needs to grow up. I use the space underneath to plant thinks like lettuce and celery that need a little bit of sun protection here in Florida.

DSCN0402.JPG
I have planted herbs in the holes of the concrete blocks and find this helps restrict the rampant growth of a lot of herbs. Every year I add to the compost etc. in the beds and I'm now considering adding a second layer of blocks to make it higher and easier to bend over for this getting older lady...:)

Sort:  

It is so beautiful.
I have followed and upvoted you do the same for me to help each other thanks :)
@syedwajeehshah

Nice garden @verdonne. I've got some herbs growing here myself, it's great to grow something yourself. I'm not completely sure, but be careful with the tags you use. Some people here take it very seriously and the "news" tag is not very appropriate. I'm new, so I might be wrong. I wanted to give you a heads up anyway.

Thank you for the info......

A second layer of blocks sounds like good idea if you don't want to bend over to much. Anyway you should also rather bend your knees as much as possible and lift with your legs. If you have not heared about the "Back to Eden Gardening methode you should really check it out. Here is a post that I wrote about it with 2 videos to learn how to implemate it in your garden. Good luck with the garden and keep on growing :) https://steemit.com/permaculture/@softfuture/how-to-get-free-woodcips-for-organic-groundcover-in-your-organic-back-to-eden-garden

nice post my bro keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49