You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GARDENING FOR FUN AND SEEDS -seed saving method for green beans

in #garden7 years ago

#goals!!! You read my mind!! I would love to have a green house and a bigger collection system closer to the garden. Thats a good idea to have an overflow system put into the gutter system. I might have to meddle with mine! And then after green house and solar comes aquaponics!! (spellcheck)

Sort:  

yes! Hydroponics is my goal for this winter. It gets to -40 here, so there is no way I can grow outside during the winter, however I am setting up a grow room in my house for some vegetables. It would be handy to go down to the basement to get some vegetables. Would also be much easier for transferring straight into the root cellar :). The overflow I am looking at is a spill back system, similar to this

However I don't want to buy it, so am looking at what I have laying around the house to reuse.

That looks super simple and genius at the same time. I would also look to upcycle things lying around. I'm the type that will keep something for years if it's something good. I have two 12 foot cardboard tubes from rolls of carpet that i refuse to give up on. There will come a time that i need exactly that thing!!!
I would love to have enough space to do an indoor crop, but i have -10% extra space with this new baby!! Our winters aren't too bad here, some days go negative degrees, but usually we are just crisp and frigid. I want some snow this year (pouting face).
-how do you not freeze? -40 does not sound pleasant at all!! Do you hibernate until the first flower blooms. Seriously though!! that's got to be cold!!

Essentially, yes! I do hibernate haha. Lots of layers, and working by the fireplace in the evenings to stay warm. But parkas filled with feathers or trimmed with actual fur are a must in the coldest times. Fur because our breath would stick to synthetic fibers, and cause ice build up by our faces, yet fur that is a winter coat does not allow the ice to build up. Obviously the down filled parkas also keep us warmer, as they insulate the best. And proper boots. The ones I use are sheepskin lined, keeps me nice and warm with the natural wool.

Congratulations on your new addition by the way! That is very exciting, and I agree they do take up a lot of room Haha

Oh wow it must be crazy where you are!! I would not have thought about the synth fibers, but I bet it didn't take long to learn!! I'd love to see you in your winter getup sometime! If you don't mind a selfie lol
thank you, I seem to be living in a smaller house everyday!!

Once the weather turns colder. Haha, it is far to warm to be in it even in fall. My father taught me about the issue of the synthetic fibers, as that is what he was taught when working in the artic circle many decades ago :) Maybe I can get my husband to help me by turning on the air conditioner to take one haha

lol i can wait, when the time is right! ill be here for a while!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34