Growing food from scraps: Sweet Potato updatesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden5 years ago

Early this year one of my sweet potatoes I was going to eat formed eyes. So I saved it and placed placed them in the ground when spring came around.

Its growth started off real slow. The other Potatoes in the bed were crowding it out. But since those were harvested a few months ago the Sweet Potatoes are now growing rapidly.

It's been producing many runners and I'm carefully winding them into the lattice. That is the hay they are growing on top of. Though I placed the spuds in the dirt before I had any hay to use. Late spring is when I started getting it so these will probably need to be dug out. Unless the new runners are depositing little sweet potatoes.

I find the runners trying to reach out all around the raised planter bed. As they get long enough I wind them back into the frame.

It's amazing how little pests attack this plant. I've had alot of troubles growing Yukon Gold Potatoes in the summer due to Caterpillars. Though the Sweet Potatoes seem to be untouched in my region by bugs.

Two beds, both taken over by vines. I'll let them grow until the frost shows up, causes them to yellow and then dig up the Sweet Potatoes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Your garden so great and I waiting for the harvest!

@rachelssi thanks alot I've had alot of fun growing veggies. I'll post an update when I harvest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

@innerblocks @hafizullah thanks alot for the curation.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Great looking garden and love your dialogue about it all. Great read

Posted using Partiko iOS

@enjoycompany ah glad you liked it. It's been quite fun growing them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

@solominer We harvested some of our sweet potatoes, they taste much better than the store-bought ones. Also instead of microwaving them we started putting the whole unpeeled potatoes in a pot of water and boil until soft, they taste better than microwaved.

@myjob oh nice! I'm waiting till the frost comes around in hopes to getting a bunch. Yeah they sure do taste better than store bought.. probably alot more fresh.

Oh cool I'll need to try boiling them. I've only boiled white potatoes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75