YAY for Blueberries!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden7 years ago

DSCN2947.JPG

Our blueberries are at least a good month behind and it is odd to start picking the blueberries at the same time of the raspberries but really, none of that matters because we still GOT BLUEBERRIES! YAY!

DSCN3000.JPG

When some hear that we get about three gallons of berries off our bushes each year, this may not sound very exciting, however, what many do not realize is that we grow all of them in pots on our deck. The berry bushes give us privacy. When combined with our grapevines that grow around the deck, we have this lush wall of green.

DSCN3031.JPG

In the photo below, you can also see our little apple tree that we hope to get in the ground early next spring

DSCN3030.JPG

So really, the blueberry bushes - and the grapes for that matter - do more than just give us fruit, they provide us beauty in our little mini paradise and allow us to enjoy our BBQ's or quiet time on our deck in full privacy. Who can ask for more from a plant?

DSCN2998.JPG

Thanks so much for stopping in! Hope your day is wonderful! ~Heidi

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

I see you are doing the same as I am, they are both coming in at the same time this year. Our weather has been quite wet and cool so far. We picked a lot today and had fresh fruit salad for dinner tonight... so tasty. I imagine your apples trees will bring you great pleasure too.

I really should try growing blueberries in pots. I don't have a good place to plant the bushes in the yard or garden, that might be the way to solve the problem.

They really do pretty well, we have had these for 5 years now I believe

Resteemit to show you can eat well from a potted plant! Great pics!

Thank you wee! <3

Hello steemit community, my racing event will begin shortly decide vehicle teams soon ! : https://steemit.com/cars/@doctortesla/hotwheels-carburetor-kings-vs-serious-speed-competitor-team-entry

How old are the bushes?
What will you do with them?
Another subject for a future posting?
I have no more upvoting power, sorry.

We have had the bushes for about 5 years now, I think they were 2 years old when we bought them

So living in pots has not deprived them of anything as far as being fruit producers.
So you feed them in anyway?

You have to keep adding to the pots but it is as simple and cheap as piling on grass clippings. I do this several times through the season. I also add a cup of blood meal per pot in the early spring and again in the fall. Chicken manure is also very good and I do this when it is available. Through the winter, I toss my expended tea herbs in them too.

I know someone who is trying to grow things in pots. I will have to share your ideas with her.

We used to put blood meal on the blueberries (that are planted) but the dog always dug into them and made a terrible mess so we stopped using that one particular fertilizer. She died this winter so we will have to start using it again.
Thanks for the reminder.

Those are some JUMBO blueberries.

I saw the first group of people picking here today, it seems late too. My son thinks it's always too late because his favorite time of the year is blueberry pie season.

Blueberry pie season! That is great :D

Beautiful area! I grow blueberries in pots also this year is the first year I e gotten a great harvest. They are delicious 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86