Woolly Lamb's Ear TeasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden7 years ago

DSCN3016.JPG

A couple of weeks ago I did a video and post on growing your own antibacterial bandages (Woolly Lamb's Ear), and also went on about some of the other health and medicinal benefits it has. At the time of making that post, I had not yet tried it as a tea but shortly after made it a point to do so and was very pleased with the flavor. The taste is mild enough to blend well with any spice or herb. Last night, I just added a bit of homemade vanilla extract and it was very good. So I was happy to have another way to use this great and plentiful herb that I grow.

DSCN3005.JPG

Ever since my first taste of the tea, I have been dehydrating a bunch for making more teas through the year. The velvety, absorbent leaves actually dehydrate more quickly than most herbs I dry but because of their thick, fuzzy texture, they seem to stay the same size even once they are fully dry unlike other herbs that get reduced to half or quarter of their original size.

DSCN3010.JPG

If you would like to learn a bit more about the benefits of Woolly Lamb's Ear, you can check out my original post here:
https://steemit.com/garden/@raincountry/grow-your-own-antibacterial-bandages

DSCN3014.JPG

Thanks for taking a look and have a blessed day! ~Heidi

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

One tea a day,
keeps the doctor away :)

this looks really healthy there

YES! And thank you! :D

I'm very interested in this herb. I'm going to check my local farmers market to see if I can find it. If not I'll order seeds. This is a plant I definitely want around the homestead. Thanks so much for sharing 👍🏻🤗

I am going to be selling some seeds from mine in the fall, plus some from some of my other herbs like borage and feverfew. Just so you know in case you cannot find them :D

Ok great I'll keep that in mind. Thank you so much 😊

Another awesome herb to learn! Resteemit for others!

Agreed! I never knew this existed. THX for sharing.

I'd heard of this plant, but had no idea it had so many uses. Thanks for the education and I think I'm going to have to look into it.

Nothing better than a fresh cup of tea made from plants from the garden or wild. Great post @raincountry!

I think I may be an addict to your channel/page! Keep it commin'!

many thanks for introducing a new plant .

Right after I saw your original post, I asked my mother to bring some of her lamb's ear to our Missouri homestead when she visited. I'm so happy I did! I now have a tiny little patch of bitty plants, the same ones I grew up with (but had no idea how useful they were). Hope they grow up strong!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52