Garden Randomness

in #garden7 years ago (edited)

DSCN2653.JPG

Though at least a month behind on many things in the garden, now that things are finally starting to grow, bloom, and produce, I have found it was worth the wait. For the first time in many months, I am caught up on all my sewing orders and thus have more time to dedicate to the garden, so the timing ended up being perfect

In the above photo you see my feverfew in bloom. Feverfew was the first herb I started growing for its analgesic, anti-inflammatory, and digestive aid properties. Though it is horribly bitter, it is quite effective and it also helps to repel certain pests from the garden. Plus, it just adds a little more color with its delicate, daisy like flowers.

Below you can see the lovely purple catnip flowers. The bees love these so besides all its many other benefits to the body (also a great analgesic, anti-inflammatory, and sedative) it is wonderful for drawing in those beneficial insecets.

DSCN2668.JPG

Even more loved by bees is the borage. I will talk more about borage in another post because the benefits to the garden and the body are so much that it really deserves its own post. So thrilled to see those pretty star shaped blue flowers as I know the honeybees will be arriving soon!

DSCN2665.JPG

After such a long wait, it is a real treat to see my peas getting blossom, this means it won't belong before I am snacking on these delectable treats while tending to my garden. O, I can hardly wait!

DSCN2663.JPG

Another exciting thing to see, though it does not look like much yet, is my Korean Hyssop growing. I was sure I had lost it all but I have at least three that have popped up out of the soil. Also a tasty treat with its pleasant licorice flavored leaves. I even added some to a salad last night and boy, it was good!

DSCN2656.JPG

Let us not forget the pansies. I have talked about their uses and health benefits in another post
(which can be found here: https://steemit.com/garden/@raincountry/harvesting-and-drying-pansies-and-what-i-use-them-for)
so I will not go on about those either, but here is another one of my very favorites I am growing:

DSCN2654.JPG

Thanks for dropping in and checking out my garden with me! ~Heidi

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Thank you so much for talking about the medicinal benefits of herbs. Because of you I'm putting in a seed order for feverfew, catnip, valarian, lemon balm, marshmallow and a host of others. We are blessed here in Australia that we have several rare herb nurseries that sell on-line so if one doesn't have what I need the other will. I'd like you to know that what you post here makes a huge difference and I'm certainly an avid student. Thank you so much for sharing your wisdom . Blessings from my household to yours. ~D.

Thank you so much!

Thanks for bringing some beauty in the world :)
c1.jpg

Why is this steemit so hard to use, understand. This is my third attempt to try and find/see your videos, like on YouTube. I've signed up, have password etc, but still can't figure out where/how to see any video here. Help!

I do not have videos in all of my posts. The videos will just look like a photo with a play arrow right in the very middle and I typically make sure they are at the top. I did not put a video in this one.

You're awesome! Keep up the great work and keep writing!(: I look forward to seeing posts from you.
I would love to see more of you putting a face to the great articles!

I very much appreciate that!

You are a blessing Heidi! Thank you for all you do! I really enjoy your posts/videos. I have learned and continue learning from you😊I do my own research and read books, but being a visual learner it really sinks in watching and listening to you. Thank you again!❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44