Dried Rose Petals, Pansies, and CalendulasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden7 years ago (edited)

DSCN2633.JPG

In my previous post, @raisingsawyer was wanting to see what the flowers looked like after they were dried. In the above photo I am showing jars of pansies, calendula, and rose petals that I had dried last summer and vacuum sealed into jars. You can see they held their color quite nicely over the past year. The rose petals in front of the jars were the ones I did today. I think they still look quite pretty myself :)

Here is another photo of the 2016 rose petals

DSCN2629.JPG

And another of the pansies

DSCN1081.JPG

It will be awhile before my calendula flowers are ready to harvest this year but here is another photo from last year where I was drying rose petals and calendula flowers.

Calendula and rose - Copy.JPG

I use the dried flowers in my own herbal teas, soaps, shampoos, infused oils, tinctures, and more. I have a good many jars stored up! :D

Thanks for taking a look! :D

~Heidi

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

I'd love to learn more about vacuum sealing in jars?

They are so pretty! I didn't know they'd keep their color like that !WOw!

The post that I had first put up this morning, that mysteriously disappeared down the memory hole, had a video in it where I show how I vacuum seal my dried herbs. I am going to try that one again tomorrow morning, hopefully it will stick this time! haha

Probably good to try again. When you do post it, can you give a little bit of a short synopsis of the process in type also? I'm no good at watching videos.

I will be happy do to that :D

Thank you! I look forward to it!

The color after drying is amazing! Is it because you vacuum seal the jars? The pics are great:).

I think sealing in the jars helps a lot. I had a jar of calendula I had opened awhile back and was using and noticed the color was starting to fade by the time I got to the bottom even though it was stored in a dark cabinet

Oh my gosh, you are on top of it! Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to make a whole post for me! They look amazing and stayed true to color! Have you ever used plants to dye fabrics ?

Thank you! No, I have not tried that yet, I have been meaning to look more seriously into fabric dying with natural things like turmeric, coffee, red onion and such but have yet to do it. I very likely will in the near future as I have some nice white cotton fabrics that I would like to add color to and use in my patch work skirts

That will be so beautiful ! I love the earthy look that natural dyes give.
It sounds like a messy deal to start into, but I cant Imagine that its any worse than tie dye. Plus, It's a great way to use extra veggies! I bet that Blackberries would be gorgeous too! (:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52