A Bit on Yarrow and other June Day Busyness

in #garden7 years ago

DSCN2503.JPG

It is a somewhat pretty day here in Rain Country. The clouds come and go and I expect a little more rain later on today but am hoping it will hold out until my laundry is dry so I do not have to move it all into the green house again. However, it is still nice to have that option of a dry place to hang them, safe from our frequent Rain Country showers.

In the above photo, I have started an early harvest on my yarrow, mostly just to encourage it to get bigger leaves and more flowers for a much bigger harvest later on. Yarrow is one of those often overlooked yet highly medicinal plants. The list of uses this has is very long, I find it difficult to remember all the many properties it has, but it is amazing and that is why I grow it. It is most known for its vulnerary properties, making it great for many skin problems from rashes to burns. I have even made a disinfectant eye wash from it in the past that cured a bad infection in my dog's eye. I will be making it a habit of throwing some into the chicken coop and yard as it also is a great pest repellent for fleas, ticks, mosquitoes, and more.

Also shown in the photo are more pansies and lemon balm to dehydrate, my molasses plum water kefir fermenting along, and some organic hard white wheat berries soaking in my homemade vinegar and rain water mix. These I will be draining and drying tomorrow for grinding into flour.

DSCN2506.JPG

Above is the current view from my deck. Our spring has been so cold and everything has been growing at a snail's pace up until the past few days. It is such a blessing to finally see my grapes taking off, even getting little grape buds all over them. My blueberries are forming nicely - though I am usually picking them by this time of the year, it is certainly better late than never and I still have a lot stored up from last year. The green house, main garden, playhouse and chicken coop can be seen in the background - along with a bit of my laundry. Soon, the grapes and blueberries will be so full, there will be very little of the back yard that can be viewed from this angle.

A new wild pansy I added to my garden this year is just now coming back after being desiccated by our mutant slugs. Just love the vibrant colors in this one:

DSCN2516.JPG

Chicks are happily pecking around their yard and testing out the herbs, lettuces, and other garden greens I toss to them:

DSCN2510.JPG

My main potato patch is looking great, though I would have liked to pile more grass clippings and other such on them, I have not been able to produce enough to do so as my yard keeps getting smaller. I should still get a decent harvest. About that time, one should be able to see the beans and squash growing on the arched cattle panel trellis that I truly hope will grow all the way to the top and give me not only plenty of food but more added beauty to my garden:

DSCN2507.JPG

In this last photo is my biggest goji berry plant that I hope to see berries on this year but do not really expect it. At least the leaves are edible and can be added to salads. My largest catnip plant is off to the right and looking so lovely with its pretty flowers. I am constantly harvesting more each week to encourage bigger leaves and thicker growth. Want to have lots for tinctures and infusions throughout the year:

DSCN2514.JPG

I do hope that you enjoyed my June day update! Thank you for your time! :D

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountrySign.JPG

Sort:  

Ahhh the temperate climate!! We are just past our last frost date in Central oregon. I finally put out my plants... I only had a few.

In any case, your yard is gorgeous!!

Oh right! Yarrow!

Do you have a good source on learning about yarrow's uses? I certainly have it coming out my ears around here!! Will the chickens eat it??

I learned most from some good books and online sources, we have to run but I will try to share those later today or tomorrow. Not sure if the chickens will eat it yet, mine are still young and they (and I) are trying to figure out just what they will and will not eat out of the garden. Hoping to give them as much homegrown stuff as I can!

Yes I enjoyed your post😊 I love to see how your garden is coming along. I live in a "high desert" and really miss the lush and green of the nw coast. Thank you!

I live in the high desert of Central Oregon! Ughhh I think we just finally past our last frost date!

Me too, nice to meet you!

Wait, you're in Central Oregon?!

Yes, Redmond☺

My goodness gracious! How wonderful! We will have to meet soon!!

Ah yes, I understand that high desert area as I have been through that many times heading down through there to visit family.

Great post. Do you cook with Yarrow or is for external uses? I dig the grapes growing all over your deck! That's great. Do you make wine with them?

Thank you! I have used yarrow in teas, but not to cook with. In a tea, it is very calming to the nerves. I used to make wine but since I do not drink any more, I mostly just turn these into juice for making a natural soda with or for eating fresh. :)

I usually have a glass of wine with dinner but I think the sulfates give me a headache a lot of the time. Maybe someday I'll make my own preservative free wine from my own organic grapes.

Can't beat homemade wine from your own organic fruits! My favorite i made was raspberry mead. SO good!

I bet. Sometimes that homemade wine gets strong too.

It was a good post. I resteemed

Much appreciated!

I agree with you on the sulfates. I never use them in my wine making, I just keep feeding the yeast until it dies of alcohol poisoning. I made a batch of apple mead last year that has somewhere around 18% alcohol due to the yeast I used. I mix it with apple juice when I drink it.

Wow 18%! That's somewhere between beer and vodka lol.

That's a really nice garden you have! Those grapes seem to be doing very well.
For some strange reason, my cats seem to think that I'm growing catnip just for them. Silly cats...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.23
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70