You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GARDENING FOR FUN AND SEEDS -seed saving method for green beans

in #garden7 years ago

This is a great reminder to just let them dry on the vine/bush like that. I found mine actually had this wonderfully beautiful spots on them when I cracked some of my dried ones open. I will have to see if I can get a picture when I am home from work.

Do you have the issue of Frost where you are? I am just wondering as this is my first time trying to save seeds, and not sure how it effects the seed collection.

Sort:  

And as for my favourites? Hmm... The creation. The fact that gardening is therapy (weeding is like ripping the spines of your enemies still attached I once heard), and the knowledge that hey, I made that!

For my favourite plants? RIght now pumpkins! Out of fluke I have a 50lb pumpkin this year, and it is my first time growing a pumpkin.

We are having a funky weather pattern like always, it is missouri. yes eventually there will be a frost, but mine dried out in plenty of time. I'm not sure how it would affect the seed pods, but a very good question, surely somebody here knows. I may mention it in the chat room and see if i find an answer!

Yeah, Saskatchewan has had crazy weather also. Drought and floods, but not ever where it is needed it seems haha.

that's the way it always is, if you get rain its buckets in 2 minutes and then nothing for a month. Glad to have rain collection barrels for this exact reason!

Exactly. I am working at figuring out my rain barrel retention, as I have 3 55 gallon barrels that I want to use for it, just need to figure out how to best allow for gravity feed. Otherwise, my well has kept us watered as it is deep and has never run dry.

We also have 3 55-gallon barrrels. We set them up on cinder blocks and they gravity feed all the way to the garden about 150 yards away. We actually didn't have gutters until we decided to collect rain!

Nice. I am looking at building a stand for them beside the house. We live in a small town, so don't have a heck of a lot of room, but thankfully we are on a corner lot so gives us a little extra. I am thinking of having the divert about 10 feet up on the gutter, and allow it to feed into a stacked system of barrels, and then the overflow will continue down the gutters. Once I tear down my useless shed, and put a greenhouse up, I am hoping to also connect a solar powered pump to be able to have it for a roof irrigation inside.

#goals!!! You read my mind!! I would love to have a green house and a bigger collection system closer to the garden. Thats a good idea to have an overflow system put into the gutter system. I might have to meddle with mine! And then after green house and solar comes aquaponics!! (spellcheck)

yes! Hydroponics is my goal for this winter. It gets to -40 here, so there is no way I can grow outside during the winter, however I am setting up a grow room in my house for some vegetables. It would be handy to go down to the basement to get some vegetables. Would also be much easier for transferring straight into the root cellar :). The overflow I am looking at is a spill back system, similar to this

However I don't want to buy it, so am looking at what I have laying around the house to reuse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35