How not to fertilize

in #garden7 years ago

What a waste, I had a green thumb at the beginning of the spring. As the year progressed, we were subjected to a hellacious summer heatwave. We went about 2 weeks straight of 100+ degree days. Watering 2 times a day did not keep the plants from withering. I had high hope for the potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, beets and onions. By the middle of August, figuring that the plants needed some fertilizer. Knowing that potatoes liked a lot of nitrogen, I applied this fertilizer 26-3-5 instead of my old standby 4-2-3. By the way, those numbers represent the nitrogen, phosphorus and potassium concentrations (as you all probably know). Thinking more is better, right.

One week later, all my plants were turning yellow and withering, even the hardy sunflowers. Within 2 weeks, all was lost. I decided to plow them all under and try for cabbages, onions, beets and some lettuce. I have already have some seeds of each germinating. I think it's too late for any tomatoes, peppers or potatoes.

DSCF0080.JPG

I have a question for all you green thumbs, do you have any idea what this plant is. I didn't plant it, it just started growing. It has these berries on it that look like blueberries. I tried eating one and it didn't have any distinguishable taste. Also I didn't die so I don't think they are poisonous. I know the plant looks very sad, that's my fault due to the fertilizer faux pas.

DSCF0094.JPG

DSCF0095.JPG

Here are some close ups of the berries. Do any of you have any ideas? I'm clueless.

DSCF0083.JPG

One highlight, I tried to start some oregano (from seed) and last year's attempt was a bust. This year, success. As you can see from this photo, I killed all the plants that I was starting from seed. Live and learn.

Sort:  

Bio Char or charcoal mixed into the soil will help holding moisture and reduce your need for fertilizer. Looks like you could use a large amount of mulch, shredded leaves, and other organic matter to boost your soil. But then again it's hard to grow in hundred plus temperatures.

Thank you for your advice. I have put wood ash in the soil, during the winter we save the ashes from the fireplace and mix that in. When the fall come, raked up leaves are buried under the soil. I haven't introduced any mulch though. I was thinking of shading the beds with a tarp but I was too lazy in the spring. When we had the heatwave, my excuse changed to it's too hot. But I will incorporate your ideas. Thanks again.

What are the chances that plant is a dark red or purple tomato? Did you plant any exotic tomato plants this year?

No, I just planted romas, beafeaters and cherry tomatoes. I'm not sure what it is. The fruit seems small for any type of tomato but it could be. Thank for you response.

Just resteem this one, maybe someone will see that plant and be able to answer.

Thank you. I hope to find out what it is.

Looks like science experiment gone wrong. I hope you didn't eat this

You are right, bad move on my part. I did try one of the berries just to attempt to find out what they were.

thx for sharing

Thanks for visiting.

nice post sir and your vote is important for me please do it
https://steemit.com/@steemit2020

I started container gardening last spring. I found that the less store-bought product I used, the more success I had. If you will do your research on baking soda, egg shells, peanut hulls, coffee grounds you might have better success.
Triple-digit temps mean nothing is growing...Lots of blossom drop.
When things get too hot, beyond tropical stage for tomatoes and bell peppers, creating a shade cover for them helps keep watering to a minimum.
Hope this helps! Prayers you'll have a better harvest next time.
Btw, those look like blueberries OR muscadine grapes; but why not take them to the local gardener or do a comparison search online. They are beautiful whatever they are. And, if they're edible, be sure to start new cuttings for some good jam.
Peace.

(muscadine link) http://www.justfruitsandexotics.com/JFE/product/noble-muscadine-grape-vine/

I found that true as you did. I do put all coffee grounds, peanut shells, egg shells and ashes from the fireplace in the garden. I never heard of baking soda, but I guess that would reduce the acidity. I was going to put up a tarp over the garden before the heat wave but I was lazy. I will get that done before next season. All your comments are spot on. As far as the plant, I took some of the berries and go the seeds out of them. I'm trying to germinate them. I think I'll dig up the plant when the weather changes and transplant it into a pot so I can bring it inside. Thank you for all your helpful comments.

Absolutely! Yes, the baking soda helps the ph balance of the soil, as well as deters pests.

Best regards,

Peace.

You know they say you should learn at least one new thing everyday. Well you just 'schooled' me. Thank you. Have a good evening.

;+)!!!
That's the beauty of Steemit.

We learn from each other.

Peace!

That's what I'm hoping to do, learn. Have a good evening.

Hi @outwalking...I came across a resteem of a post I read 8 days ago. I'm including the link. The berries in your photo resembles those they were drying...black currants.
Hope this gets you closer to determining what fruit it is. If you didn't plant it, a bird probably dropped a few seeds along the way.

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@arcticgarden/it-s-berry-time

Peace.

I think you're right. I didn't even think of currant because I thought currants grew in colder weather. Thank you so much.

Good morning, I went to the local nursery and they weren't sure what it was. I got a response today from @amymya and it was suggested that it might be 'potato fruit'. amymya's post is below. Still searching. Have a nice day.

good post , continue

Thank you for your support.

Sad to hear that friend,but im happy to hear those upcoming veggies..hope to see them soon blooming at your next post..

Had you been growing potatoes there? That looks like potatoe fruit! Seldom seen. Look it up :)

Thank you for the response. I did look it up and it does look very similar. I will do more searching but I think you might be correct.

Looks too familiar some years. Is the berry a type of Garden Huckeberry or something similar. I've eaten something close to that one, but forget the exact name.

The 'pro' weighs in. Just joking, I have read many of your posts and you (appear) to have a good handle on gardening. You maybe correct but I have no idea what a huckleberry is. I think it looks like a blueberry but taste-wise it just tasted like a drop of water. So, bottomline, I'm open for suggestions. Thanks for weighing in - always gratefully for a 'pro's' opinion.

Looks difficult to grow in the clay dirt. Try to increase the amount of organic plant matter in your soil. The darker the better. What part of the world are in located?

I'm on Mars. Just playing. I'm in southern california. We import our soil from Mars. Very true, the soil here is mostly clay. I have (over the last 3 years) been trying to lighten up the soil. I've added compost, leaves, organic matter from the kitchen (coffee grounds, peanut shells, egg shells and vegetable ends and peels. The soil is very bad. I take all the leaves and mix them it and the soil. Its has gotten better but far from what I'd consider good. I think the solution is to move. I have been going to planting in containers instead of the ground. Thank for your response.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62209.21
ETH 2436.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66