Pepper Harvest

in #garden6 years ago

20180907_082723.jpg

Yesterday was a pepper harvest day. I had one plant of Tabasco peppers and one plant of cayenne peppers growing in the garden. From these two plants I picked about a pound of the ripest peppers leaving a more for later in the season. You may not be aware but a pound of cayenne and Tabasco peppers is a lot of peppers. Occasionally on the cayenne peppers I would get a green one but with the weather we've been having there should still be plenty of heat in them.

I don't understand it, but usually when I pick hot peppers it seems to make the plant mad. It goes back into a mode of full blooms and will try to make another batch of peppers. The pepper plants are usually the last plants to come out of the garden and it depends on how early we get frost here in Indiana as to whether the peppers have enough time to grow a second batch.

In the past I have either frozen the peppers or dried them for later use. Once the peppers are dried they can be ground in a blender to make pepper flakes or ground pepper, both can be dangerous when being used in a recipe. This year, however, since I still have plenty of frozen and dried peppers I am going to make hot sauce. Should make for a day with a very fragrant house, good thing my wife will be out today.

Sort:  

Never do good with peppers of any kind here in upstate ny. Did get a couple of bell peppers. Just harvested beets, carrots and onions, great yeild. Take a look at the posts. Will stay in touch. fellow gardener.

()

P1220858.JPG

Great work. I can never get carrots to grow myself.

beautiful post.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-07T13:43:21
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 437.25/200.00
Total Photos: 71
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love peppers...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78