Back to Eden Gardening

in #garden7 years ago

This week I will be moving into a place with a backyard and am excited to try this new method of gardening.

Has anyone on here tried it? What were the results?

For those who don't know, the Back to Eden garden uses primarily woodchips in a layering method. It is supposed to mimic the way that it is done in nature. For example, in the forest, you would have some sort of natural layering occurring when the leaves fall. It became popular a few years ago when Paul Gautsch did a documentary on it. It is supposedly better for the soil, plants and the earth itself. It requires less watering, and supposedly garners a bigger crop, while also avoiding the need for constant field rotation.I have researched it in depth, many Youtube Homesteaders back the method, but I'm excited to finally try it myself. My first patch of land will be very small, as it is late in the season, and I'm not sure how much I'll be able to actually do. Obviously I am hoping that by this time next year, it'll be ready to go. I did see someone online doing it in pots which I found to be interesting. If you have any experience with this, please feel free to let me know your tips. In the meantime, here is a link to one person's experience with it.

http://www.thesurvivalistblog.net/back-to-eden-gardening-method/

Sort:  

While I haven't tried this particular method, I can say from experience that it is possible to take a tiny suburban backyard and turn it into a mini-Eden. Building up and replenishing the soil is essential and can be the most time consuming thing but even on a lawn formerly doused with chemical fertilizers and pesticides restoration is possible. I found biodynamic preparations to be very helpful. If you have Earthworms, that's a good sign. I wish you all the best of luck with your garden.

Ty! I will look into your suggestions. Best of luck to you as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65