You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Something is taking apart our eggplants! (And, I will still use the phrase "watch garden" :) )

in #garden7 years ago

I find it amusing that @bchick recommended I get some feral cats, and they're what's harming your property.

I am sincerely hoping that the neighbor's cats can't jump over the fence. I want to find rabbits, mice, or rats tomorrow -- not cats. And especially, not find missing traps, which might indicate that the cats have triggered one with a paw and then hobbled home on three... :(

Sort:  

I have a small rat terrier she handles most vermin for me. They are great farm companion dogs. She also herds the chickens for me. That would be bad getting a neighbors cats.

One trap was triggered this morning, but nothing was in it. Plants looked the same, so perhaps the noise of it snapping scared them away. I'm okay if they live, just as long as they're not destroying my plants!

I do not like to kill any animal either, hopefully the noise was enough of a warning.

Agreed! I also put the have-a-heart trap out there yesterday, as it had arrived. Nothing triggered this morning, although two of the carrots on the rat traps were missing...

Also lots of bird poop on the plants in cages, I think they're sitting up there to scan for grubs. Perhaps I'll put a fake owl out there as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65