Water rooting garden croton (Codiaeum variegatum)

in #garden7 years ago

While I love plants and gardening, I am not burdened with an excess of disposable cash. So, I have to substitute creativity.
I've been finding ways to pursue my powerful plant passion that are cheap or free. One of these is learning about plant propagation: Plants making more plants!

Here's an example of one of the methods I’ve used pretty frequently and had some successes (and some failures!) with: water rooting.

This is croton branch right before potting. The angle isn't great but there are little white roots down at the bottom there.

I took some cutting about 5 or 6 inches long. Making sure to keep the right side up, I stood them in a clear glass jar with a few inches of water in the bottom. I changed the water every few days, or whenever i remembered and I waited. It seemed to take forever!
Garden Croton is a warm weather shrub known for its colorful leaves. It’s a very popular ornamental here.

Here are two starts of different varieties that i had success with. I'll keep them close by and well watered until their roots are established.

Photo credits @kareemah and wiki commons https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Codiaeum_variegatum

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37