Update on Kombucha and Fall Seeds Sprouting!

in #garden7 years ago

Get psyched for some new baby plants and a new baby scoby!


Figured I’d update you all on that kombucha I taught you how to make 10 days ago. The young scoby is nice and healthy and the kombucha is just to my liking, I bottled it up in a mason jar at 8 days, put it in the fridge, and have been drinking a cup a day for the last couple days.

It’s really good stuff! I think I’d call myself an advanced kombucha maker now. ( :


And check out my seedlings! Ah! It’s one of my favorite things to see all these little guys thriving. It looks like two of my lettuce seed packets have gone bad because I got no germination there. Oh well. And some of my herbs have yet to come up. But some seedlings require patience. They are really sleepy plants and don’t like to wake up from their shells very quickly. I get it. But it means you have to stay diligent on keeping the soil moist and believing that they will come up in their due time. I’ve sprouted seeds after 2 months of waiting! And finally they sprouted when I had almost given up hope!

But most of these guys have been really quick. I’m thrilled by my Aloe Trees coming up so quickly:


And all my veggies looking strong:

And even my sensitive plants have shown their faces:

The Basque Lettuce and arugula were the first to sprout after only 2 days. It’s now been 11 days and only a few haven’t come up yet. The two dud lettuces and what I assume is old yellow nasturtium seeds. The others that haven’t come up yet are my lovage, lunaria, chinese lantern, globemallow, and black-eyed-susans. From my experience these all tend to take a bit of pampering. Those black-eyed-susans never seem to work out for me. Maybe I keep trying the same bunk seeds?

I guess we’ll see if they come up.

Sort:  

you look very healthy and FIT

Your seeds are looking good. I'm getting ready to start mine in about a month as our growing season in Florida is October thru April. What type of medium did you use? One of your own or just a vegetable potting soil? I hope mine will do as well as yours. Keep us updated on your progress.

Is it too hot in the summer to grow?
It's my own blend. I attempted to start a farm 2 seasons ago and still have starter soil for my seedlings. Coco-core, vermiculite, perlite, and compost... pretty simple but high quality seedling mix ( ;

Instructions on Kombucha? I am going to read them right now .

hope you like them! Don't buy a scoby, make your own! ( ;

Fall seedlings looking good!
My arugula is coming up too. One of my favorite greens to make salad out of

MMMMMmmmm! LOVE my Arugula! (;

kombucha / sprouts... you are speaking my language... we had lentil stew for lunch, yummy (-:

I'm on the autoimmune paleo diet right now so no lentils for me ... 2 more months I I'm crossing my fingers I'll get to start adding foods back in (:

@jayjayjeffery, congrats on the successful germination of your seeds. Those little darlings look so sweet all nestled in their little soil beds. I hope you have success raising them to maturity. Please keep us posted.

I certainly will let you all know how they go. Especially the herbs that I'll probably keep inside through the winter so they're strong for spring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80